All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:40 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
do you mean the "type what you see in the image" thing? those things can get annoying sometimes. Like when the text used was so freakin unreadable and you have to go through the signup form again and again until you get it right.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:00 pm 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:27 pm
Posts: 73
yeah that's the thing....thought the image created in the phpbb isn't too obscure...could be good or bad....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:09 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
we could think of anothe method. something that doesnt need much programming but human intervention. What we want is to make sure that no spambot or any bot fro that matter to add itself to our database or users. Well, we could use account verification by admins or moderators or nayone thats human for that matter. Of coruse that would need at least someone with access to those controls at 24-7. or we could just take it easy, if we find a new user and thread made by a suspicious spam bot or is advertising something or some website and has nothing to do with ET, TCE, or online gaming for anyreason, and the user does not reply within 24hrs, we could remove both account and thread. (if they dont reply within 24hours or consider 72hrs of the warning on suspicious threads, then it must be a spambot)

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:18 pm 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:27 pm
Posts: 73
that is one option...I have used the admin active user setting and found it can very very overwhelming with the number of accounts being created and checking each user's details...tc.com does have some "mods" I've made to allow quick eradication or users and posts...if time permits I was thinking of making some sort of dodgy user mod for tc.com and naturally the code can be ported here...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:04 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
that would be very very good. But TCE.US does need a few more moderators. Besides me, diane, from time to time Traumahalw and now including you, we are the only guys managing this forum group. But anyaways, there are only 5-7 active members that post often. most of all the others are just signing up but never really post anything. other only advertise their own forums, websites, etcetc.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:30 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
but on topic:
i really hope that dynamic lighting, and dynamic shadows, could be implented,

dynamic lighting - for shooting lamps (pure for the realism)

dynamic shadows - to add realistic shadows on the map,
(wich its really neccecary when you used "picture tone mapping")

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:44 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
they could just port the whole mod over to doom3 engine onces its finished. From there just a few tweaking and editing to work on c++ codes used by D3e. Doom3 does need some modern tactical shooter mods since it doesnt have much that are comparable to TCE. (and give me a reason to get a game that never crossed my mind before)

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:11 am 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:27 pm
Posts: 73
I too would like to see dynamic lighting etc but as I think we all know this is not possible...

It would be best to get a stable game in place and then for us to re-evaluate where we go with it i.e a new engine. This would then hopefully give us a good basis to work on new features.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 2:50 pm 
Offline
Forum Master
Forum Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:48 am
Posts: 1239
Well, dynamic lighting & shadows would take animation codex to use, I think. :?

And with the engine they are using, animation is a bitch unless they get some animation experts...

I am most likely wrong.

~Silentcrisis

_________________
Image

/Dragonathon

TC:E/ET username = Silentcrisis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:43 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
These shaders mostly require C++ programming to make the job easier, but the ET engine is using QuakeC language and is very limited compared to C++. So, its not impossible to do, its just impossible to do within the dev's lifetime unless they make a complete overhaul to C++ which means completely rewriting the engine and the source code, which means breaking the license agreement of ET itself since your not suppose to reverse engineer the engine, but you are allowed to with the game.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:57 pm 
Offline
Forum Master
Forum Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:48 am
Posts: 1239
Yeah, I saw the coding for QuakeC and it's a bit of a bitch to get used to so I just bagged the whole thing. :P

~Silentcrisis

_________________
Image

/Dragonathon

TC:E/ET username = Silentcrisis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:05 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
after TCE, tehy can make TC2 for doom3. that would be cool.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:37 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
XenoKiLLer wrote:
after TCE, tehy can make TC2 for doom3. that would be cool.


TC2,, lol!! that would be a cool title...

but the problem is, if they used the doom3 engine,
it would be a commercial succes, because, not evryone have the doom3 game, but with the WET engine, evryone could acces the file,
means that we can have more people on the servers.
i think the WET engine, could use some upgrades,
tweak it, twist it, push the limist, ans just discover what you can get out of a crappy old engine.

its like this,

the wet engine is like this old mustang:
Image

the devs are the car-tuners, and they're planning to make the mustang look like this:
Image

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:42 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
Dragonathan wrote:
XenoKiLLer wrote:
after TCE, tehy can make TC2 for doom3. that would be cool.


TC2,, lol!! that would be a cool title...

but the problem is, if they used the doom3 engine,
it would be a commercial succes, because, not evryone have the doom3


oke since i cant edit on this post im gonna di it edit it like this,

it would be ---> NOT A <---commercial succes

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:57 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Remember when I said the Quake3 engine became free, a GPL engine. That happened when the Doom3 engine replaced it. Within this year or next year, Id Softawer will release Return to Castle Wolfenstein 2, with a brand new engine designed by Carmack himself. With the release of this new engine will render the Doom3 engine obsolete and under the GPL making it available for free over the IdSoftware FTP for new small game devs-to-be. Its only a matter of time. Id already announced a sequel with a new engine coming with it. What they can do is use the engine itself, creat their own game source code and there you have it, a brand new, freeware game.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group