All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:13 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:39 am
Posts: 4
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HPL_Engine#HPL_Engine_2


Developer(s) Frictional Games
Written in C++
Platform Windows, Mac OS X, Linux
Type Game engine
License Proprietary/GNU General Public License


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:33 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:34 pm
Posts: 64
Hello Nameless,

You have to understand that at the time being, True Combat is being developed, for free, by one man in his spare time.

It took many years and many people to bring TCE to existence, and it would be impossible to recreate the game on a new engine without a lot of time and many people.

Therefore, AN ENGINE SWITCH IS NOT AN OPTION.

You already suggested it a few months ago, and the answer I wrote back then is still valid:


paul wrote:
Nameless wrote:
have you think to use unreal engine 1.5, 2 or 3?


Yes, yes, if you look at the forums a bit you will see that almost every month someone comes up suggesting an engine switch :

Here CryEngine:
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/v ... php?t=2305

Here idTech4 and UDK, with a lots of arguments against it:
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/v ... php?t=2347

Here Caesar77 is posting about the game he is developing on UDK (you even posted in this thread!!!) :
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/v ... php?t=2513

and more here:
https://www.google.com/search?q=engine+ ... telite.com


However coroner, who is the main developer of TCE (and the only developer for the last 6 years or so unless I'm mistaken), has already posted in the threads I linked above that he isn't as proficient working with UDK as with other engines.

Diane, maybe you should make a sticky telling people to search the forums before suggesting an engine change? ;)



If you search in the forum, you will see that many people attempted to do True Combat remakes, one of the most advanced being http://www.code43.net/, yet none of those projects delivered a playable game.

There are a few other projects which are done on a spare-time basis, such as Reaction Quake 3 or Urban Terror. They have many highly qualified people working on them, including ex id software employees and computer engineers, and still development on them is quite slow. How can you expect TCE to do better?

So, if you want to see a TCE-like game on another engine, feel free to do it yourself! But be aware that it will take years of work. So don't ask other people to do it for free for you.

_________________
Missing .pk3 file? Find it here:
Over
5GB of TCE custom content!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:41 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:11 pm
Posts: 269
Well, good luck assembling a team to create TC all over again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:07 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 5
Hi hall

i always enjoyed this game and his maps..

i wondering , why instead to change the engine , not port only the maps to another engine?

i thought on graw 2, that is a tactical shooter, port all maps in 3ds max and export all in game, without props and refine all in editor is quite easy and fast, my 2 cents


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:18 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:34 pm
Posts: 64
well, do it then

_________________
Missing .pk3 file? Find it here:
Over
5GB of TCE custom content!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:54 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
zukov wrote:
Hi hall

i always enjoyed this game and his maps..

i wondering , why instead to change the engine , not port only the maps to another engine?

i thought on graw 2, that is a tactical shooter, port all maps in 3ds max and export all in game, without props and refine all in editor is quite easy and fast, my 2 cents

Technically speaking, this would be a good first route to changing engine. Not necessarily convert all the assets but a number in order to get a playable state would suffice. The main problem with this lies in that game code cannot be just exported like that into different engines and this would likely turn out to be a significant investment in time. Unfortunately, I don't see Coroner doing this any time soon so I don't think it's on the table as far as ideas are concerned.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:15 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 5
graw 2 has the same MP game modes and the scripting language is XML and you may personalize it your mission in deep manner without build another game or mods.... yes the format is a bit mexican Northport map becomes "Puerto del norte" but TCE remains the same, plus you have dynamic props and physix

the only problem is convert the maps

the pipeline is gtkradiant remove all unecessary objects-> export like .obj -> 3dsmax -> export to diesel engine like landascape/static ground in your custom level -> build a atlas texture refined in 3d editors->play


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 3:19 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 5
paul wrote:
well, do it then

dont'have the .map files from tCE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:15 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:34 pm
Posts: 64
There are actually some maps whose authors have uploaded the .map files. Last examples are the obj_skirmish remake (I think), and obj_downside that Bruce just uploaded.

Otherwise, q3map2 can decompile .bsp files back to .map . In some cases, a few light entities are lost, but if the map is well done and if you have all the shader files, it should not be the case.

Whatever you do, ask authors for their permission before you do anything with their work!

_________________
Missing .pk3 file? Find it here:
Over
5GB of TCE custom content!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:37 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 5
paul wrote:
Whatever you do, ask authors for their permission before you do anything with their work![/b][/color]
of course!!!

i saw your signature, i find this source files on your repository?


i tried to open some WET maps (.map) but unfortunately in blender appears like a weird cube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:16 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:34 pm
Posts: 64
zukov wrote:
i tried to open some WET maps (.map) but unfortunately in blender appears like a weird cube


Either:

a. Your blender import script is flawed / was made for another version of blender

or

b. The map is inside the cube! you're seeing the map from outside and the skybox is covering the whole map. Try moving the viewpoint around, or scaling the map up.

You should also try to open the .map file in radiant or Quark to see if it's correct.

Simon O'C and KatsBits have very good tutorials on mapping and blender.

hope this helps!

_________________
Missing .pk3 file? Find it here:
Over
5GB of TCE custom content!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:46 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:52 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland.
To be fair, TCE could do with a complete engine overhaul, far beyond the idea's of coroner, sure the movement and physics are very good. but its the 21st century now, we should have a far better Engine if TC is to compete with modern day free to play FPS.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you think to develop the game in this engine?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:04 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:59 pm
Posts: 5
Dim$tar wrote:
To be fair, TCE could do with a complete engine overhaul, far beyond the idea's of coroner, sure the movement and physics are very good. but its the 21st century now, we should have a far better Engine if TC is to compete with modern day free to play FPS.


the map design is important and on TCE is really well made

change the type of game is ok, for example is more easy to port the maps on crysis 2, instead on cryengine 3 sdk,

rebuild the game from scratch it's a madness

the real question is, the new game engine with new graphics is funny? for me no


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group