All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:59 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Slovenija, EU
btw.. Ranger, no you don't have to. But it is idtech4 naming convention (meaning: XreaL and its derivatives use this nomenclature, so it is best to stick with it.) and its purpose is to ease the working process.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:05 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
......Breathe.....Breathe....

I tried your ideas, nothing worked.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:13 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Slovenija, EU
still.. what about if you would tell us what exactly did you do (line by line) and what happens. I don't have slightest idea where are you stuck or what are you trying to do, nor what happens :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:38 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
I'm trying to get the normals and spec showing on my aksu. I took your pack, and since it was messed up, changed the _local back to _norm, _spec, etc, so I could use the unedited .md3, which was uncorrupted. It doesn't show up, and I don't know why, I changed the .shader file too, but I didn't touch anything else. What did you change in the .md3 file?

Also, your test map is all black and stuff ingame, but I can still see the dynamic lighting working. :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:48 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Slovenija, EU
1.) Does your aks model show up in-game?
2.) Is it skinned (does diffusemap show up?).
3.) Double check if shader name is the same as the one stated in the md3
(if md3 states models/weapons2/m4_main.jpg, then shader name has to be models/weapons2/m4_main).

Is the map completely black, or are there any lights in it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 7:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
There are patches of light, but everything else is pitch black. The aksu shows up in game, it is diffuse mapped, but no apparent spec or normals are visible, but I can tell there is dynamic lighting, so it isn't that. I will try and get some screenshots up for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:18 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Slovenija, EU
Go under the patch of light, then fire a few rounds and reload (so that you can see how it looks during reload animation).
Another way to test it is to use a 3rd person view from the side.
If you still won't see any normal mapping or specularity, then check the console output. (Search for any "shader models/weapons2/aks****** has normal map stage without image" errors. Or "can't find models/weapons2/aks***** image in shader")
Also, it would be great if you could show me some in-game screenshots or send the "fixed" pk3 to me to test it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:43 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:25 pm
Posts: 2
I'm not sure what sxy did wrong.

This was my simple try to start tcetest with the ET-XreaL engine:

Image

_________________
ET-XreaL - http://xreal-project.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:00 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
holy shit, hey Tr3B welcome to the forums :)

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:29 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Slovenija, EU
I know what I did wrong - I've bought ATI gfx card :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:43 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
Holy *i-need-a-broader-vocab*, ok, back to compiling next gen weapons for tce.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:10 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 459
Xreal's renderer is really kind to those .jpg textures, the SS looks great.

What about player models and the .mdm format? Is import/export plugin planned?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:27 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:25 pm
Posts: 2
My free time is really limited. ET-XreaL supports all ET model formats and compared to the old XreaL it can even animate .md3 and .mdc models on the GPU. I have no time for writing new import/export tools. The renderer still contains all code for better animation formats like .md5mesh/.md5anim and .psk/.psa.

_________________
ET-XreaL - http://xreal-project.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: OBJ_Snow specular
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:29 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:44 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Poland
Tr3B wrote:
I'm not sure what sxy did wrong.
This was my simple try to start tcetest with the ET-XreaL engine:
...http://xreal-project.net/wp-content/tmp ... snow.jpg...

Wall shader rebuild in OBJ_NOW to get specular map:
Image
This is for what I dreamed from years in TC:E

As TC:E isn't open source we can't even publish bump & specular maps :evil:
Without ability to improve textures we don't get too far graphic improvement.
So spending time on TC:E <> Xreal without the top permission, will not let us give something to players.

_________________
http://tompl.isgreat.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:44 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 5:44 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Poland
Where EDIT button gone ...

ImageImage

This is how looks like stock OBJ_SNOW for me.
Even many tricks with r_HDRgamma / bloom / overbright - still can't get shadows , color light , some weapon models not appear etc ...
But soon or later we find the way :P

_________________
http://tompl.isgreat.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group