All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Web Text on TCE Menus
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:54 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 264
Location: Lando System :)
Hi

Is it possible to grab basic web text, and display it on the tce main menu.

Iam taking apart the AES menu for my own project, there menus uses static defined text.

PS greets to AES for an awsome menu :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:46 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
as far as I know, you can't grab text from the web

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:57 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 264
Location: Lando System :)
Thats a shame, but not the end of the world, the pk3s are comming in at under 120k.

I remember we where doing some mad suff reading who was on different TeamSpeaks last year part of wich was pulling names of TS. And pbbans can grab a welcome text off its site.

maby theres a way :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:26 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 477
PbBans greetings is a rcon command sent through the hub (GUID cross reference with MPI).

_________________
Image
xFire : wootheyetti


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:41 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 264
Location: Lando System :)
Cheers Woo

would it be possible to use pb to to pull web text, in to a menu :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:08 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:36 pm
Posts: 477
what do you mean by web text ?
anyway at the 1rst point of view i would say the game is not designed to pick online content, only PK3.

_________________
Image
xFire : wootheyetti


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:18 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 264
Location: Lando System :)
Im working on a news system that can be accessd from the in game menu.

Static predefind text is np ofc.

But I wanted to read a txt file from a url. AES are using some rly nice commands for jumping out of TCE a web site, im hoping one of the AES god's will post here :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:42 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
You can't do it, as simple as that. You'd need to grab the source code and start adding things in (if that is even possible). The only guy who could do it is Jaquboss, that guy could do anything. But sadly he is long gone.
But ya, I've played around with the menu stuff. But what you're asking is out of the realm of possibility from what I know.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:58 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:37 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Between your legs
I've messed with the .menu files and I dont think either that theres a way to add this

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:28 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
Well, to add new text, you need to create a reference character map with all of the new characters arranged like so. Take a look at the default ones, that should help you out a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:14 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia/Germany
that wont help him as he wants content/text being displayed from an external source (probably a website, which will be updated once in a while and that way the content in the menu should up too) and that is not possible.

_________________
=MaveXII=|WL Admin |IRC:#mave-clan
Image
*Clan Movie #2*|xfire: snakes3k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:01 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 264
Location: Lando System :)
Thanks for the info m8s,

As a last try im gonna pop over to a Q3 Dev site, and see how hard thay laugh at me :D.

If all else fails I will hard code the news into the pk3, and update when necessary, the pk3 footprint is less than 120k @ 1month intervils, so it wount clog up installs.

Greetz & Love Ed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:37 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Between your legs
I think writing a news bot that can be placed at servers would be much more usefull seeing it could be updated easily at smaller time intervals (1 month is long)

Ofc nice in theory, you have to write a bot first. I think the only bot like this I have seen was a server<->IRC communication bot. (maybe the creator will reply, its WIP so don't want to get him spammed for this)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:26 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
LayerS wrote:
Ofc nice in theory, you have to write a bot first. I think the only bot like this I have seen was a server<->IRC communication bot. (maybe the creator will reply, its WIP so don't want to get him spammed for this)


I got an irc <-> et <-> ts spambot somewhere 60% done :)

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:11 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 264
Location: Lando System :)
I think I just got a semmi :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group