All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Unable to connect, multiple messages, windows 7
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:23 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 5
Hello all,

Got myself a new computer, and decided to try out windows 7. It's nice, but I can't play TC:E. It doesn't like seem to play well with PB. Punkbuster kicks me soon after joining the game. I actually managed to join the game twice, but then was kicked after spawning. Sometimes a minute or two after.

I got rid of my anti-virus program to clear up any possibility that it was causing issues.

I did a complete reinstall of TC:E and WET, fresh.

The two messages I get mostly are: Disallowed program/driver [120135]

or

Service communication failure:PnkBstrA.exe

I also get the one other message about my files being impure. I don't worry about this one.

I run the program with administrator priviledges. Never having used Vista, I am new to the administrator stuff in Windows 7. I did this via the menu shortcut.

One thing I have noticed is that I have to switch my resolution each time I start the game. It won't remember what I set it to which makes me think the game can't write to the .cfg file. I haven't tested that yet, but I'm hoping someone has more experience than I do running TC:E on Windows 7 beta.

Can anyone give me any suggestions so I can get back to playing TC:E?

Ingvar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:14 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia/Germany
windows 7 will not be supported by pb until its final(non-beta), so if you wanna play you'll have to go back to XP/Vista or play on non-pb servers(mostly empty,except 1 japanese)

and for the resolution try, adding the following cvars to your autoexec.cfg(you can open it with the notepad) in your tcetest folder(if its missing then simply create a .txt and rename it):

seta r_mode "-1"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_customwidth "..." //e.g. 1280
seta r_customheight "..." //e.g. 1024

then you can start tce and open the console with ^ or ~ and type in /exec autoexec
or right-click on your tce shortcut and go to properties. there you just add a +exec autoexec.cfg at the end of the commandline in the target field.
e.g. C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\ET.exe" +set fs_game tcetest +set com_hunkMegs 300 +set com_zoneMegs 64 +set com_soundMegs 32 +exec autoexec.cfg

_________________
=MaveXII=|WL Admin |IRC:#mave-clan
Image
*Clan Movie #2*|xfire: snakes3k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:20 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. It means I need to get Linux reinstalled on the new comp. I don't think I want to go back to XP.

Ingvar.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:32 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:30 pm
Posts: 91
xp owns

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:53 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:32 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Cuba
Any news about windows 7 and tc:e ? Is it compatible now ? PB updates ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:39 pm 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:22 am
Posts: 1396
Yes, it should work now. I've heard that it started working a little while before the official release (re: pb).

_________________
Image
Steam // TrueCombat // C22


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:49 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 266
Location: Louisiana, USA
Ingvar! I hope you get it working. Been a long time. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:42 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:36 am
Posts: 433
Location: tri(p) city
the day w7 was aviable in stores evenbalance fixed the api kick so it is working perfect now. solution for 99% of kicks is instaling punkbuster service/updateing it/checking firewall exceptions. also googling number of API kick in 99% gives a working solution

_________________
Lite Installer
PunkBuster HELPDESK
main_admin @ sHoTZoNe.cz-CZECH BC / PirateBayTCE 0.49b>BC<Main


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:06 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
Sometimes Punkbuster is more trouble than its worth. Not much you can do though.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:11 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
I'm about damn ready to somehow dual boot xp on my laptop with vista. I have a free upgrade to windows 7, but I wont install it, not enough programs I use are compatible.

I can't export models into TC:E properly without max 4.2, which doesn't work with vista.... FFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group