All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SYSTEM OPTIMIZATION
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:52 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
allot of people are complaining about slow map downloads, im having the same problems too... and it is very annoying, the loading has been reduced 80% in version 0.49.

the programmers of TT really needs to optimize the hole system and gain the loading speed, i would like to see the devs making the loading more faster than 0.48 if its possible, the programmers of TT needs to optimize the hole system, perhaps TT could use more programmers,

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

the slow map loading isnt the only problem in 0.49, but evrytime a map is loaded, and when you just got in a server, evrything starts to lagg, its really annoying, and if there is just too many laggs you get kicked out of the server, and thats another damn 5 minutes wasted,

what i suggest is to have a system and connection loader evry time you entered a server, so evrytime you entered a server "after the map load"
you should see this system/connection optimizer on your screen:
Image

as you can see, this feature i suggested optimizes your system performance , so you can run the game smoothly after evrything is loaded fully,

and after the system optimization, your connection should be loaded properly so you wont have laggs, the connection loader should reach your actual connection speed, so in otherwords evrything has to connect properly before you can play,
Image
evrything should run smoothly after your system/connection should is loaded, it is to prevent the annoying laggs

example, when you just entered a server:
Image

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

ok this problem isnt new, now you know when you are at spawn with your team mates... and after the countdown when the match starts, you notice that evryone isnt starting at the exact same time right?
some people are like 10 meters ahead when your spawn countdown is just finnished counting, i think the problem is that evryone's connection isnt loading properly, so i suggest that evryone's connection/system should be loaded properly after the countdown so evryone can start simultaneously,

example:
Image

but i dont think the system optimizer is needed for the spawn start, but i think the connection loader would be very necessary for the spawn start,

1 last thing, how come the player models always end up landing from above when the match starts?
it looks ridiculous and unrealistic, IMO the player models should stay on their feet.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 10:31 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
the map downloads being slow are because of the download servers being slow. and though map load times are longer than .48, they're a TON faster than HL2, and many ET custom maps.

and spawn lag is usually caused by everyone sending thier info to the server at once, there's not much that can be done.

also, how does the "system optimizer" optimize the system? IMO, optimize means to remove junk that slows you down, like closing all other programs, emptying temporary folders/deleting temporary files and emptying the recycle bin.

and the reason some people start in front is because they hold the movement key down, and as the map is spawning the players, thier system has said that they have been running for x seconds, and shoulc move x units.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:40 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
AKA lag warping.

--------------------------------------

Well as I always say, nobody can make changes to the engine without getting a lawsuit from id.

Having a built in program that scans people's computers then adjusting settings is not a native part of WET or the Quake3 engine. Since the EULA limits what people can edit, this is not possible legally.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:06 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
on that note to, I don't want a program that does stuff to my computer without an option to tell it not to.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:53 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
XenoKiLLer wrote:
Since the EULA limits what people can edit, this is not possible legally.


this isnt illegal, ive read the EULA, i couldnt find anything that says that something like this is illegal,

but dont take what i've suggested too litteraly, it dont have to be necessary a system optimizer or a connection optimizer, but something that loads so you can run the game more smoothly with out laggs, because i think that evrything isnt loaded properly evrytime i just got in a server after the map load, same with the start of the match, i dont get the feeling that evrything is loaded fully,

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:44 am 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:27 pm
Posts: 73
There seems to be 2 things here...slow maps being downloaded and slow loading of maps.

Downloading of maps is something we cannot control as there are so many variables including network connectivity, speed, system setup, etc.

As for the loading...this is something else unfortunately we do and don't have a lot of control over. In so far as making smaller size maps, smaller textures, less models etc then yes the paks and maps would load quicker. But on the other hand as mentioned above the maps and pretty much everything else that goes with it has been upped quality wise which for the most part means increased size. Sure we can optimise textures here and there and maybe do some clever stuff with the models but the engine handles this stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 4:09 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Lower the quality of textures would be like undoing all the work the devs have done to make TCE look so good. Face it, if you are getting slow loading times - which Im sure if you have a pretty good computer and a good knowlege of how to manually optimize and improve its performance, you shouldnt get any problems due to slow loading times or even lag.

If it is slow then it means its time to upgrade.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:22 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
3 computers using the same network will slow down the loading,
all the pc's im using are sufficient enough to play TC:E at a high Quality,
infact, i even reduce the quality to make evrything run smooth, it is still laggy,
the laggs dissappears after ive been in the server for a while though,

oh and... i dont wanna upgrade my pc, because im getting a ps3 8),

LordOfKao$ wrote:
Sure we can optimise textures here and there and maybe do some clever stuff with the models but the engine handles this stuff.


some game developing teams have their own group of people that specialise themself in optimizing the system, like the developers of PHOLYPHONY digital, those guys makes the best race games and i can tell you that what they are making always look flawless,, but my point is... if you optimize the hole game system doesnt mean that the quality have to be reduced badly, i think its possible to optimise TC:E and make evrything run smoothly with out demaging the Quality so much,

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Last edited by Dragonathan on Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:53 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 7:26 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
TT cannot optimize the engine to run better than it already does. I already said they cant edit the engine. It isnt the game code that handles the subsystems of the game but the engine itself. The Quake3 engine was not originaly intended to have textures of that size and quality nor was it designed to be used the way TCE uses it with higher resolution mesh beyong the specified limits. With all that said, it is expected that for improved quality on an aging game engine and renderer, expect slow loading times and possibly bad performance - just look at AA, TCE isnt the only one that has the exact same situation.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:03 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
to this day I can't get AA 2.7 to run....

LoK has spoken. all that TT can do to spped up loading is to make smaller maps, which would be a really dumb idea, as maps are already small enough.

also, the loading times are only ~5-10 seconds longer than a regular ET map, if not the same.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:09 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
barely any difference on mine. Just a fact - Battlefield 2142 runs better on my computer than either TCE or AA or FEAR. Just proves that a good game takes alot of optimization in the code. Problem with TCE is devs cant change the engine code to better suite the needs of TCE. As for AA, the devs are just too busy building AA3 they compeltely forgot to optimize AA2.7. As for FEAR, its great it just needs to tone things done a little.

You see, graphics quality and map size doesnt determine the time it take sto load a map or the overall performance, it is all about how well written the game engine is - in the case of TCE, the Quake3 engine was not meant ot go that far, although it could it needs optimizations to work correctly - no system settings or any configurations can change that fact, plus they cant change the engine unless the port to GPL which I am pretty sure that the answer to that idea is NO as always.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:40 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
XenoKiLLer wrote:
a good game takes alot of optimization in the code.

exactly...

XenoKiLLer wrote:
You see, graphics quality and map size doesnt determine the time it take sto load a map or the overall performance.

exactly...

you should change your graphic card setting and reduce the quality to have a fast performance, you will notice tc:e's loading is still the same, it is still slow,

so i think that the graphical quality has nothing to do with the slow load and laggs, there is just something seriuesly wrong with tc:e currently.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:25 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 11:14 pm
Posts: 139
XenoKiLLer wrote:
in the case of TCE, the Quake3 engine was not meant ot go that far, although it could it needs optimizations to work correctly - no system settings or any configurations can change that fact, plus they cant change the engine unless the port to GPL which I am pretty sure that the answer to that idea is NO as always.

_________________
Don't fight back. Image
Fight forward.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:48 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Always qouted.... 8) :shock: 8)

Its not TCE, its just that the engine was never really meant to take it this far. Its nobody's fault in the first place. Plus it is kind of expected since it is written on some of J. Carmack's release notes for the engines - specificaly saying something about texture sizes and poly limits.

So far, I dont think anybody will mind a 15 second wait. BF2 and 2142 take up to 1 min to 3 mins to load a map ands erver on my computer - up to 5 mins if it is optimizing shaders - those games are relaly popular obvoiusly means that people dont and wont care about loading time if the game is good. - and TCE is good. - its just some of the players that are "Ezels"

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:57 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
in HL2 you get similar wait times for sections of maps to load, they're a little shorter, but the map segments are a TON shorter. (the first part of the chapter "point insertion" is about the size of a pathway for the tunnels of railhouse.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group