All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HELP!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:29 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:21 am
Posts: 3
Hi, i remember playing this game from back in the Quake 3 days, and it was the cream! I saw this recently for ET (I havent played in a long time) so i decided to give it a shot. I have the latest version of ET installed, and i downloaded the .49 TCE setup file from the internet, and installed it on my machine. So far so good, i then proceeded to load the game, and set it up and whatnot, but it seems that i cant join any servers, because they are all dem_ which apparently means they are .48 servers. I tried joining several, and whenever i do it A) changes my menu background and music (I remember the old one from Quake3 is on there, that is kick ass) and B) ruins my resolution, which i cannot fix. So whenever this happens, i have to uninstall the whole game and reinstall. End result for me: .49 does not work.

So i uninstalled .49 from my machine, then installed .46 and .48. I thought this would work, seeing as the servers are for .48. However, when i join a server it just keeps bloody telling me to download new pak files, which range from 10-60mb and download at snail speed, and once they finish downloading, it crashes!

HOW do i get this to work! Why arent there any servers up for .49? Do i have to install .46,.48 then .49 in a row to get it working? Someone help!
thanks, your help is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:58 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:21 am
Posts: 3
dw i think i worked it out. I downloaded ET off fileplanet, which told me it was 2.6 when it was actually 2.55. I only just read about this problem and looked to see if that was it. Ill try updating somewhere and see how it goes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:14 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Make sure you download all the right files:

WET 2.55, patch 2.60 (NOT 2.60b)
TCE 049 full

-----------------

If you wish to, use an external browser, the internal browser is unreliable.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:30 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:21 am
Posts: 3
Yeh, it was the fileplanet thing... I downloaded 2.6 off there when it was infact 2.55. I think it might be a good idea to sticky this thread or another one that tells people that Fileplanet's 2.6 is wrong, because i had no idea and it took a while to find that out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 3:28 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Lol. It doenst take a genius to figure it out, after installing the game you can press ~ and see what version it says it is. Someone remind me to write to FP 3 weeks from now regarding the WET installer. (Ive done it before with other stuff - IGN staff listens to customers)

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group