All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Freezing game
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:51 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:06 pm
Posts: 2
Hi there. :D

I've a major problem with TC:E 0.49 as the game freezes now and then.

I connect to a server and everything's fine for about a minute. Then the game freezes for another minute, and freezes five seconds every ten seconds for a couple of minutes. After this, the game runs normally for five minutes, and the cycle repeats.

Can someone help me ? :oops:

TIA


Last edited by Lenoir on Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 298
Location: Québec, Canada
Dam you’re my hero… well let’s say you just have the same problem I have… I have no idea why this happens…

My pc stats are

*AMD Duron Processor (equivalent of Pentium 3)
*128mb graphic card
*640mb Ram

And here’s a pic of something I get a lot when I create a server
Image

If somewone knows whats wrong plz tell me what i got to do to fix this prob...

_________________
Image Oh yeah !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:10 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:22 pm
Posts: 28
I had the same problem. Updating PB fixed it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:12 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
You need to update PB. Try not to update PB ingame... very much not a good idea. America's Army has been getting problems like that lately. THe game freezes as PB is updating or authenticating ingame. I suggest checking your PB installation for updates using pbsetup.exe available through the links in the stikies under PunkBuster.

The freezing from the start of the round is normal. It just means that the server is lagging when new players come in. It happens most of the time because the server is loading too much information from players and also, if you dont have plantiful ram, expect that to happen at every start of a round. Adjusting your netspeed should fix it. Follow the guides in the navigation menu.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:14 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 4:48 pm
Posts: 14
Same issues. It's a graphics related issue, so says the lagometer. For no reason, while floating/not moving as a spec I will still drop from 65fps to 6fps just looking at a wall.

P4 3.0e (hyperthreaded)
1G dual-chan 400mhz RAM
nvidia FX5200u 128mb DDR vid

While playing .48, I can get my capped 65fps almost always with no 'freezing' spikes like now. Even with the quality reduced, hunkmegs raised to 256 and the 'eye' setting at it's lowest there are still nasty spikes.

I suspect others are having similar issues and wonder what steps have been tried.

**I see the above PB suggestions were posted as I wrote this. I just updated PB via console so lessee..

_________________
-(LTF).:nugjar:.


Last edited by nugjar on Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:18 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Its not you who is spiking its the server. BTW stay tuned to the general support section for updates on stickies and must knows. Right now, the only official word is to turn of autodownload settings to prevent issues. This means you can only play on pure servers with the 6 official maps but it means less chances of other issues from happening.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:35 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:06 pm
Posts: 2
Indeed, it was all related to PB which needed to be updated.

Thank you XenoKiLLer, it certainly did the trick. :D :cheers:


Last edited by Lenoir on Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:37 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:22 pm
Posts: 28
xeno: is there any chance you could make a bunch of locked stickies with common problems and their solutions in them?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:16 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
chancer are I will make all those new stickies and sticky updates as soon as TeamTerminator sends the official bug report and solutions to our admin.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:03 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 298
Location: Québec, Canada
Should i update my punkbuster directly from evenbalance.com or just from my pb folder ?

_________________
Image Oh yeah !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:12 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
GO to evenbalance.org and download pbsetup.exe instructions on how to use it are in the site aswell. it allows for faster updating of PB rather than using PBWeb.exe

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:17 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 298
Location: Québec, Canada
XenoKiLLer wrote:
GO to evenbalance.org and download pbsetup.exe instructions on how to use it are in the site aswell. it allows for faster updating of PB rather than using PBWeb.exe


Well i pretty much know how to use it... I just didnt know that there was an update for et... Anyways thanks for the anwser

_________________
Image Oh yeah !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:47 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 298
Location: Québec, Canada
Well I guess I underestimated myself cuz I reinstalled wolfenstein plus the patch and true combat elite 0.49. And I updated my punkbuster after I did all that and I got the same prob as I used to have… I guess I didn’t update punkbuster the right way… Anyway here's a pic of my punkbuster Image

*My pb folder is 10.4mb and it contains 40 files and 3 folders*

_________________
Image Oh yeah !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:20 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Okay as I said, download pbsetup.exe from EvenBalance

"DO NOT USE pbweb.exe"

pbsetup.exe works faster and more fficiently than pbweb.exe. pbsetup.exe is a different program distributed by PB to update itself efficiently and properly. the old pbweb.exe doenst work aswell and I dont think it is still even supported.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 2:05 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:04 am
Posts: 298
Location: Québec, Canada
XenoKiLLer wrote:
Okay as I said, download pbsetup.exe from EvenBalance

"DO NOT USE pbweb.exe"

pbsetup.exe works faster and more fficiently than pbweb.exe. pbsetup.exe is a different program distributed by PB to update itself efficiently and properly. the old pbweb.exe doenst work aswell and I dont think it is still even supported.


I did at it says that all the updates are done... But Im not sure it works, should I reinstall again ?

_________________
Image Oh yeah !


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group