All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with TC:E
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:46 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:11 am
Posts: 8
Location: BELGIUM
Hi, first of all i new to this game and forum so....
So i followed the Installation Guild and downloaded all the things you need to be do... than i start TC:E, and than i connect to a server, but first wierd thing is that it needs to download a lot's of files?? why? i already got anything not? than after the downloads the map loads but than suddenly stops and disconnect... errormessage : "the server dissconnected for no reason" or other errormessage : "somthing with my GUI or something..."
And how do i put a shortcut to TC:E because now i always open WET and than click on mods....
Please help...
Thanks.
Greetz

_________________
My name on WET/TC:E >> *Valkiry*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:13 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
okay some answers:

Quote:
and than i connect to a server, but first wierd thing is that it needs to download a lot's of files?? why?

that's because the server has custom made maps on it that are not included in the tc:e install files

Quote:
"somthing with my GUI or something..."

we need the exact error message here, because it can either be the new pb bug (PB guid unknown auth) or empty cd-key bla

Code:
And how do i put a shortcut to TC:E because now i always open WET and than click on mods....

copy your et shortcut, go to it's properties and add "+set fs_game tcetest" (without the quotes) in the target line

you might also want to add "+set com_hunkMegs 192 +set com_zoneMegs 64 +set com_soundMegs 32" (again without the quotes), because that fixes some errors and improves performance (that are some settings about how much ram et/tc:e is allowed to use for stuff)

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:31 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:19 pm
Posts: 39
Location: England
hi merlin
i just got the - PB GUID Authentication Unkown error when connecting to a server :/ and its doing it on all servers when 2 hours ago i was playing fine.

Ive updated my pb twice and restarted my computer, (which is a mac by the way) And still no success :(

Please help!

thanks, Tiny

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:19 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
Mr_Tiny wrote:
hi merlin
i just got the - PB GUID Authentication Unkown error when connecting to a server :/


I sadly don't know no solution for the PB GUID Authentication Unkown error :(

it helped me to get a new etkey and in case it still showed up a reconnect fixed it

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:14 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:11 am
Posts: 8
Location: BELGIUM
ok thanks for the fast response...
Are there servers where you need to download nothing (they only use basemaps) ?
And the shortcut: I do shortcut than wat? i "+set fs_game tcetest" set where?
The Errormessage : Something with GUID PB, how to update PunkBuster?

Thanks

_________________
My name on WET/TC:E >> *Valkiry*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:41 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 181
*Valkiry* wrote:
ok thanks for the fast response...
Are there servers where you need to download nothing (they only use basemaps) ?
And the shortcut: I do shortcut than wat? i "+set fs_game tcetest" set where?
The Errormessage : Something with GUID PB, how to update PunkBuster?

Thanks


How to update PB:

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re:problems
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:14 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 7:59 pm
Posts: 79
Location: kansas usa
Finally someone else with problems. Ive had problems with this game form day one, but i love it. Now i dont have any problems. my prob was old video card issues, resolved that prob then began playing, thats when i got in to the issue of having to download all this other shit in order to play on diff servers.
I just let it run its course, id connect to a server and 20 min later all the paks were downloaded and i could play. I didnt listen to the install advice of otyhers who said to turn off autodownload. i downloaded everything i could so i can play on any server. except for those that have outdated files.

I hope my advice helps some.

_________________
Its A Thrill to Kill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:31 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:11 am
Posts: 8
Location: BELGIUM
ok, i updated my PB, t really helps, because it was the first time yesterday that i actually saw the game... after loading the map i see the map (spectating) but than suddenly i return back to Main Menu errormessage :
"Server Disconnected-PunkBuster kicked player "Valkiry"(for 0 minutes)...
Cvar rate = 4000"
Wat is this??? pfff, i am getting tyred trying different stuff guys, can nobody help me?
greetz

_________________
My name on WET/TC:E >> *Valkiry*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:54 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:37 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Between your legs
do /rate 15000 or /rate 20000
also cl_maxpackets from eh 60 to 100, w/e you want between those two.

snaps best on 40

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:38 am 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
snaps 20
rate 25000
maxpackets 100
:wink:

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:11 am
Posts: 8
Location: BELGIUM
uhmmm....??? :shock: wat the hell is that? fraps and stuff.... :shock:
i don't know where to do it or wat it is.... :?
Can somenone explane wat they are trying to say?

_________________
My name on WET/TC:E >> *Valkiry*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:49 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:57 am
Posts: 250
Location: California, United States
Hey Valk,

For the moment, just update your punkbuster with this:

http://websec.evenbalance.com/downloade ... php?file=1

If you need instructions on how to update a games PB, goto http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

Once you update tcetest, lets say you want to connect to this server ip 8.9.9.53:27960

Before you do that, open up console (by pressing this button on your keyboard ~) Once it is opened type the following commands word for word:

/cl_allowdownload 1
/cl_maxpackets 60
/snaps 40
/rate 25000
/cl_wingzeropro

After you type those commands in console, don't close it yet and type /connect 8.9.9.53:27960

If you get in, you should be able to play anywhere.

Let the game download the files! it shouldn't take too long unless your on Dial-up type of internet.

Regards,
WingZero

_________________
[00:29] [MASSA]Scarsraider: we keep TCE alive with our BC
[00:30] [MASSA]Scarsraider: we just got posts on our forums saying people want to play MASSA
[00:31] [MASSA]Scarsraider: but without massa bc this game would be dead
[00:31] [MASSA]Scarsraider: and u know it
[00:35] [MASSA]Scarsraider: probably every TCE player has at one point played on our BC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re problems
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:22 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 7:59 pm
Posts: 79
Location: kansas usa
Thanks wingzero
works great
i think it would have worked any way, but i always like chekching shit out.
thanks

_________________
Its A Thrill to Kill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:24 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
*Valkiry* wrote:
uhmmm....??? :shock: wat the hell is that? fraps and stuff.... :shock:


those things (rate, snaps, cl_maxpakets) are settings for et

since et was created some time the default settins for networking are set with dial up connections in mind (54k modems, ...) todays servers kick you for such settings since you can get an artificial lag if you use the in some way.

if you get kicked by punkbuster for cvar SOMENAME = SOMEVALUE that means that you have to change some settings to be able to play on that server.

btw depending on the os and the keyboard layout you can either open the console with the "~" or the "^" key

to change a settings (called cvar) simply type /CVARNAME VALUE in the console

hope that helps :wink:

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:24 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:11 am
Posts: 8
Location: BELGIUM
finally.... :) :o :wink: 2 guys who explane it correct to me :P
Thanks guys for you're help! 8)
I hope the things you said help, i will try it out. :wink:

_________________
My name on WET/TC:E >> *Valkiry*


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group