All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: unuser-friendly 0.49b patch
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:16 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
watah tah f.ck!! i dont know how to install 0.49b...

damnn the old 0.48 patch was more easier to install i just dubble click it and a popup appears with a loading bar ect. ect. it was more easier, and now i get this computer geeky microsoft bill gate file watah f.ck!!

how do i install it ? and what happend to the user-friendly interfaces?

:(

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Last edited by Dragonathan on Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Didnt Diane already put on the news that 049b has been pulled. So there is no use to get it.

If it is in zip format anyway, just extract it and copy the files intot eh TCEtest folder while retaining the same folder structure. Unless, if you extracted it and it comes with a TCETest folder, then open that folder and just copy all the contents into the TCEtest folder in your directory.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:37 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
XenoKiLLer wrote:
Didnt Diane already put on the news that 049b has been pulled. So there is no use to get it.


mann mann... it seems i get the news more earlier than you...
Quote:
Written by LordOfKaos
Tuesday, 02 January 2007
Further to the previous news post, the new fixed version of TC:E 0.49b has been released. This release does not add anything extra to the game but rather fixes an issue within delta.

The file is named: tce049b_all_os_fixed.zip please note the _fixed suffix.


by the way i allready fixed it, too bad that the popup window with the loader to update tc:e with a new patch isnt used anymore, that was way way better.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Last edited by Dragonathan on Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:41 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
I already know that. Well the loader bar isnt really necessary. All you need to know is where they were extracted

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:48 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
XenoKiLLer wrote:
I already know that.


than what the hell is this mate?
XenoKiLLer wrote:
Didnt Diane already put on the news that 049b has been pulled. So there is no use to get it.


anyways...

that pop-up with a progress bar was necessary,

because you didnt have to move any files you just simply click once and evrything was automaticly arranged,

what not necessary? :roll:

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:40 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
it's a .zip file with some .pk3s and junk. if you can't extract that, you probably shouldnt be playing.

oh, and do you know how inconvineint it is for the devs to make a .exe installer? if they do that it's literally 4 times the work. after the windows one is made, they need to make a mac installer, then a linux one, and then the ..zip again for those of us who like using winzip/winrar.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:13 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
It is just a simple package. It is also a hotfix so they didnt really have time to make a proper patcher.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:05 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 71
download

extract to tcefolder

overwrite all

what could be simplier than that???

lawl

_________________
....and on the 8th day, God created [SeF].


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:53 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
once again... most people arent computer experts,

infact more than 8 people asked me how to install 0.49b patch :roll:

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Last edited by Dragonathan on Sun Jan 07, 2007 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 4:47 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
I had 15 ask me on how to install .49, so I don't see a problem.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:05 am 
Offline
Forum Master
Forum Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 4:50 am
Posts: 1049
Location: Teh US
Dragonathan wrote:
once again... most people arent computer experts...


So now you have to be an expert to know how to extract a zip file? :?

I guess they should have included a Readme file (or did they?).

_________________
"Who's chair is that?... who put that G**Damn chair here? It's not my chair. Not my chair not my problem, that's what I say"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:08 am 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:22 am
Posts: 1396
even for computer "experts", it can be a little tricky because the patch creates a sub folder. Most computer "experts" would just unzip it to the folder without blinking an eye and not even notice or realize the subfolder and encounter problems (that's what I did when I installed the alpha - I didn't even notice the subfolder until I couldn't connect to the beta server. So yea, it can happen to anyone).

Although this isn't a major or complicated issue, I agree that we need to clarify installation and will do so more thoroughly in the future.

_________________
Image
Steam // TrueCombat // C22


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:40 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
It is kinda like a hotfix, you cant blame them for its installation quality.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:20 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 539
Personally, I think that if you can't find it out, then you shouldn't be allowed to play, but I'm just mean and don't want noobs playing with me.

_________________
No Dragon, red is my new color.
I once spelt violet voilate, I will carry that cross to my grave.
Dragonathan, no I can't.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:30 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
if you can't patch with a .zip file, you're probably the kind who goes "how I shot gun?" in-game. also, with some of the stuff you have to do to get the game running perfect, you'd never figure it out and get kicked for ping/whatever issues.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group