All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:22 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:44 pm
Posts: 6
I tried turing the wallmark off and I think it actually helped things alittle. But the sound was the big thing. So it's something to do with information comming form gunfire of other players. Because if you do the same thing with your own gun nothing happens.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:29 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 7:53 am
Posts: 2
Turning off wallmark fixed things for me, now going for some silkeeesmooothe
tc-elite action :D, see ya on the battlefield guys! ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:16 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:02 am
Posts: 3
I just can't turn down the Khz. I've tried to do it while launching the game:
/usr/local/games/enemy-territory/et +set fs_game tcetest +set s_khz 22

And, checking it in the console, it still has 44 Khz. Changing it again in the console and restarting the sound doesn't change it (keeps in 44 Khz and the bug still persists). Even changing it directly in the etconfig in my profile folder doesn't work.

But... switching off the wallmarks completely fixes the firelag. I guess Coroner was right and it has something to do with bullets, penetration, ... but nothing graphic.

Anyway, at least there is a nice workaround. See you in the servers!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:53 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:40 pm
Posts: 15
Ok, I can fix this bug by disableing wallmarks entirely (Game -> View -> wallmark lifetime = off) (equiv is +seta cg_marktime "0" )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 3:56 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
I should do that... or put them on super short... I usually like to look to see what angle everyone is shooting at me from..

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:27 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 11:14 pm
Posts: 139
If the main site wasn't down, I'd link you to my 3 page thread about firelag xD

_________________
Don't fight back. Image
Fight forward.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:34 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
+set fs_game tcetest +set seta com_zoneMegs "128" +set com_soundMegs "64" +set com_hunkMegs "256"

Also include this to the entire line of start up code with the sound adjustment to 22khz. Having that we get

+set fs_game tcetest +set seta com_zoneMegs "128" +set com_soundMegs "64" +set com_hunkMegs "256" +set s_khz 22

Which over all fixes, that sound problem and the Snow and Railhouse hunkmeg issue.

Paste that entire string into the target box in your TCE shortcut properties.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:40 pm
Posts: 15
You seem to have forgotten the wallmark lifetime setting in that string.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:30 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
that isnt really an issue for everyone but if you wanted to add it go ahead. But as for the 44khz sound, I can see that in the console it keeps saying error loading sound is not 22khz.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 2:24 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:05 am
Posts: 41
I dont hace the problem with locking up like everone else here but i have lost FPS with .49 how do i get it back up
normaly i fun 40-57FPS now i am down to 20-35 and is smoke is involved 15-20 sometimes less
forgot i run a Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 128mb video card


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 2:51 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
that should be normal due to the higher system requirements. lowering the settings should boost it up.

TBH, i find anything over 10 to be playable, if I"m ina pinch, 5 will even do. I havent gotten 50 FPS since I was staring at the floor.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:59 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 11:14 pm
Posts: 139
I used to get a constant 90 fps on TCE 0.48.. then something went wrong or I dunno, and I started getting max 60, and it was very erratic.
Now 0.49 has come along I have lowered ALL my settings to either off or lowest, and I still haven't gone above 30 fps. While that might not seem bad for such a crappy card, that fps is when I go ironsights and walk into a wall so I cant see anything but the single texture.

The second I see someone my fps dropps 20/15 and the second they start firing I get a max of around 10 fps. Thats if I'm lucky.

Oh, and there is no possible way to aim at anything less than 10 fps, becuase you just cannot get the precision.




One last thing: Do NOT tell me to get a new GFX card. Some people do not have good cards because they don't have the cash needed to get a better card. Now, if you would sponser me £100 then I would sure as hell go out and get a new one... but I really don't think you'd give me that cash, now would you? ;)

_________________
Don't fight back. Image
Fight forward.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 8:08 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
I still play at max and get 90-100fps, strangely the maps Snow and Railhouse both give me higher fps even those though those two were the ones giving hunkmeg errors because of their size. I dont get variable lag but I occassionaly get lag spikes that just lets me warp all over the place.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 3:23 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:05 am
Posts: 41
its not just the settings that effect FPS im finding out the the server can be an issue to. if i am in a server with 25-30 people i lose FPS about 15-25FPS but 10-20 people i run a good FPS 30-45 i guessing it has to do the lag cause by weapons fire and how good of a ping you get from the server


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:13 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
its not just the server ping, the average ping shows how good the servers would play, usually if a really high pinged players drops by everyone gets lag.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group