Please donate to keep this site alive!

All times are UTC

Post subject: [TUTORIAL]Creating Custom Skins in TC:E
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:17 am 
Expert
Expert

BTW: Can I get a sticky please?

/////////////////////////EDITING PLAYERSKINS IN TC:E BY RANG3R1///////////////////////////////////////////

Alright, so you want to edit/ make your own skins for TC:E. This tut should take you from total noob to pro, as long as you pay attention to the details.

First of all, lets make a list of all the things you will need to create/edit skins for TC:E:

A copy of the most recent version of TC:E (.049)
A compress/decompression software to pack/unpack .pk3 files, I found that the free 7-zip works the best.
A good photo editor, whether it be Gimp, PAINT.NET, Photoshop, Paintshop Pro, etc, and it has support for .tga (you could use Paint for .jpg's, your choice)
A decent understanding of your photo editing program.
Notepad or equivalent

Alright, now we can begin:

First, let me explain about .skin files

.skin files are used to tell the engine what texture to attach to certain models, I will go over editing player skins in this tutorial, weapons in another.

the default skin files are located in the following folders-pak2.pk3

/models/players/temperate/allied(or axis)/soldier/engineer etc

here is an explaination for each

Allied (Spec Ops)
---cvops (.skin files for the first Sniper Skin)
---elite (images that make up the skins)
---engineer (.skin files for the first Recon Skin)
---fieldops (.skin files for the second Recon Skin)
---medic (.skin files for the second Assault Skin)
---sniper (.skin files for the second Sniper Skin)
---soldier (.skin files for the first Assault Skin)
---vip (uncompleted section that should be complete in future releases of TC:E)

Axis (Terrorists)
---cvops (.skin files for the first Sniper Skin)
---elite (images that make up the skins)
---engineer (.skin files for the first Recon Skin)
---fieldops (.skin files for the second Recon Skin)