TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

CQB ...
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=2521
Page 4 of 6

Author:  coroner [ Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Just a quick note,

if ETLegacy really wanst to provide full mod/ET compatibility I suggest to leave all trap commands unchanged, or generally all interfaces between the mod/game code and the engine.

I would like to keep the bots as debugging tool in CQB.

Cheers,

Cor

Author:  IR4T4 [ Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Hi there,

TCE is active again ? :D .. well Radegast did point me to this thread and we would love to see another mod on ET: L.
Can you tell us which BOTLIB_ traps are called in TCE/CQB? What are they used for (except for debugging)? I've never seen a TCE server with bots :o .. 200 opens and 201 just closes the botlib.

coroner wrote:
...if ETLegacy really wanst to provide full mod/ET compatibility I suggest to leave all trap commands unchanged, or generally all interfaces between the mod/game code and the engine...

We did only remove the never used and maintained botlib calls responsible for the bot 'intelligence' interaction. It's still possible to add bots into the game but the logic is moved to the external Omnibot framework. As Radegast mentioned - all active ET mods do it this way ... be sure other existing interfaces/calls won't change!

Finally I think we'll find a solution - let's work it out ...

Currently available bot related calls in ET:L (you don't have to open/close the botlib to use them):
Code:
G_BOT_ALLOCATE_CLIENT
BOTLIB_GET_CONSOLE_MESSAGE = 210,
BOTLIB_USER_COMMAND        = 211
BOTLIB_EA_COMMAND = 407


coroner, your extensions/additions sound very interesting ... any help is appreciated! ;)

Author:  coroner [ Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Hi, sorry for the delay. As in my earlier post, the following traps are used

Quote:
I noticed that u removed the botlib but didn't investigate further, maybe u can tell me which trap 201 and 202 are. Quick check, I used TeamWhores old free Wolfenstein bot code, which uses

trap_BotAllocateClient
trap_BotGetServerCommand
trap_BotUserCommand

Otherwise a number of Bot traps are in g_save but I suspect these are from ET code.
Shouldn't changes/removing in the trap commands make all mods incompatible?

You could try TCE, it should have the same problem ...




I would like to keep CQB code untouched and need the bots for debugging. Would be great if ETL were "really" compatible to ET in this point.

Author:  Damien [ Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Hopefully, bot support won't be a show stopper. :/

Author:  coroner [ Sat Jul 20, 2013 7:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Good news.

CQB seems to run on ETL with bot_enable 0.
There is an issue in starting maps with the official release and the official check, I can run the game without problems in my dev version.
Dunno whether they changed something with the checksums, would be nice to know.

Anyhow, if I open CQB to run in unofficial mode, a standalone on ETL seem possible without huge effort.

Author:  JagdKampf [ Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

WoW that would be awesome :D
>http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2528


gogogo coroner...make this happen! 8)

greetz
JagdKampf

Author:  Caesar77 [ Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Could the person(s) running the only CQB server out there PLZ remove those bots
or reduce it to one or two bots ? It's kinda keeping people from playing....

Hope we'll see more action on CQB soon ;-)


~You're never too old for things you're passionate about~
Keep it up, Coroner.

Author:  coroner [ Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Problem with ETL and CQBs official check is that the ETL server doesnt reference ETs stock pak1.pk3 for some reason.

I will realease a new and less restrictive CQB in the next months.
*some fixes that where not released yet
*cqb_hangar (aka cqb_killhouse)
*compatibility with ETL
*sv_official can be disabled for running all maps
*bot support disabled, only available for development (developer 1)

if I have time
*configs for objective and CTF
*double barreled sawn off, Saiga 12k and USAS-12

Author:  Haraldzz [ Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

You got me hyped. :)

Author:  Damien [ Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Played TC:E today after ~2 years. CQB on an updated engine would be awesome.

Author:  IR4T4 [ Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

coroner wrote:
...
I will realease a new and less restrictive CQB in the next months.
...
*compatibility with ETL
...

Awesome news! I'm not thrilled about adding the botlib back just for degugging purposes but time will tell ... at least users will profit after your release and that's a start.

How to reproduce the pak1.pk3 missing reference thingy?
Please file issues on our bugtracker http://dev.etlegacy.com/projects/etlegacy/issues/new

Author:  poVoq [ Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

coroner wrote:
Problem with ETL and CQBs official check is that the ETL server doesnt reference ETs stock pak1.pk3 for some reason.

I will realease a new and less restrictive CQB in the next months.
*some fixes that where not released yet
*cqb_hangar (aka cqb_killhouse)
*compatibility with ETL
*sv_official can be disabled for running all maps
*bot support disabled, only available for development (developer 1)

if I have time
*configs for objective and CTF
*double barreled sawn off, Saiga 12k and USAS-12


Sounds great! Will it also be under the GPL, or still a only a ETL compatible mod?

Author:  rBok6 [ Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Wow, is great to see things are going well in here for CQB. My best wishes for you Coroner on this new adventure you're embarking on. I can't wait to test that new CQB installment. Good luck.

Author:  lolrivaLL [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

This would be possible, work the game in CQB Google Chome browser, for example?
A Brazilian is working with a game whose name is BALLISTIC in the browser, see the link as below:

Ballistic an FPS Brazilian (Brazil), will release worldwide.
http://www.techtudo.com.br/jogos/notici ... ndial.html

Author:  Haraldzz [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CQB ...

Am I the only one that would rather launch a game right from my desktop rather than some stupid browser? Internet browser is made for browsing the internet, stop putting stupid gimmicks in your games stating you can do more with it. You are downloading the game to your computer anyway in a form of an addon or plugin anyway, so I truly don't understand the concept. Funnily enough, the only browser game that is actually worth playing and works the way it is meant to be is Quake Live. Even then it has problems keeping the framerate stable even in places where Quake 3 ran perfectly. Please go away with your stupid browser shizz.

Page 4 of 6 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/