All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:44 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
I think im gonna sign a patent for the name truecombat, so i will be the only one who can use the name truecombat, but if coroner sign a patent for the game title before i do, then i wouldnt mind, i can always use a different game title, to sign a patent wil cost u 2000euros, its a win lose situation now,

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:12 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
Bro, three things.

A) You last few posts have had NOTHING to do with this thread at all. That means they don't belong here. So stop posting these silly ramblings here and make a new thread somewhere else.

B) Patents are for tangible things, products, inventions, etc. You would want a copyright, since the name is not a tangible item.

C) You last few posts have had NOTHING to do with this thread at all. That means they don't belong here. So stop posting these silly ramblings here and make a new thread somewhere else.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:27 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:58 pm
Posts: 17
Just chiming in to say that I respect you, Coroner, along with the rest of the team that worked on the True Combat franchise.

There is literally no other game that plays like TC:E or CQB, for that I salute you and request that the game lives on!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:39 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:11 pm
Posts: 269
Dragonathan wrote:
patent name truecombat, i will be the only who can use truecombat name

Am I free to laugh yet? Or should I just face palm due to the lack of sense made?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:48 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:00 pm
Posts: 12
Back on topic:
http://unvanquished.net/wiki/index.php/Engine_features
https://github.com/Unvanquished/Unvanquished

Should be able to run CQB more or less out of the box, is highly advanced compared to vanilla ET, has a a long series of buxfixes and stabilization efforts compared to ET:Xreal, and if you ask nicely I am sure the Unvanquish guys would allow you to modify the relatively realistic and good looking playermodel with a contemporary skin and all sorts of props to make it look like a modern day fighter suitable for CQB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:04 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 459
A standalone host for a moddable CQB is something I'd definitely like to see.

If that would happen, a 3rd party launcher shouldn't be too hard to create so it all comes in a nice package (think DayZ launcher).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:29 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 280
Location: USA, California
I would love to see CQB revised, updated, and active on servers.

We need a dedicated team that is determined.

We need cool new features like flashlight, laser, and medkit.

Implement bots again! For people like me when all the Euros are sleeping :P.

We don't need to end the True Combat Legacy like this......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
Groove Six Studios
Groove Six Studios

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 309
I tried to load CQB with ETlegacy. Unfortunately it failed, they seem to have changed something with the trap commands

Code:
Sys_LoadDll(D:\etlegacy-windows-2.71rc1\cqbtest\qagame_mp_x86.dll)... succeeded
Sys_LoadDll(qagame) found vmMain function at 2BF63CA0
------- Game Initialization -------
gamename: cqbtest
gamedate: Aug 19 2012
Not logging to disk.
Gametype changed, clearing session data.
Enable spawning!
Disable spawning!
0 teams with 0 entities
-----------------------------------
********************
ERROR: Bad game system trap: 202

********************
----- Server Shutdown -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
recursive error 'Bad game system trap: 201
' after: Bad game system trap: 202



The project seems otherwise quite lean and clean and the latest repository includes a GLSL renderer, don't know what their plans are though. Is anybody in contact with them?
Since they want to provide ET compatibility, it would be nice if CQB would be running :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:46 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 280
Location: USA, California
Oh ya, loving this...!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:04 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:00 pm
Posts: 12
coroner wrote:
Is anybody in contact with them?


I send the creator of it an email asking to join this discussion.

But it would be great if something more than just mod compatibility would come out of this. I am sure the community would be happy to help out replacing all the remaining ET:Wolf textures and such, to go standalone based on ET:legacy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:23 pm 
Offline
Groove Six Studios
Groove Six Studios

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 309
More than compatibility would be great, of course. But it is the first step to start with :)
I am also curious whether they are heading for a stable integration of GLSL. Seems they have integrated some part of xreal. Would love if this would be the team that finally cares for a slow and stable integration of some pixel shader stuff without trying to catch up with the latest engines.
If this were true, I guess I get hooked again into ET/CQB :)
If it then gets z_feather (aka soft smoke edges) I have a big smile on my face.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:05 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:33 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Prague, Bohemia
Hi, we are very interested in making CQB compatible with ET:L and then cooperating further. I am a bit worried about those missing system traps though. How much does the project depend on the botlib? We've removed .. edit: some parts which we haven't seen used by any mod. I am on Mac otherwise I would have already been experimenting with this.

coroner wrote:
Would love if this would be the team that finally cares for a slow and stable integration of some pixel shader stuff without trying to catch up with the latest engines.

Yea, that's the plan!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:03 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:11 pm
Posts: 269
Hmmm... Interesting... I want to see where this ends.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:51 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
Haraldzz wrote:
Hmmm... Interesting... I want to see where this ends.

Who cares about the end, it's the beginning that matters brah. And this, is a beginning.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Last edited by Alpha Red on Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB ...
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:18 am 
Offline
Groove Six Studios
Groove Six Studios

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 309
Hi Radegast,

thanks for joining the discussion.
I noticed that u removed the botlib but didn't investigate further, maybe u can tell me which trap 201 and 202 are. Quick check, I used TeamWhores old free Wolfenstein bot code, which uses

trap_BotAllocateClient
trap_BotGetServerCommand
trap_BotUserCommand

Otherwise a number of Bot traps are in g_save but I suspect these are from ET code.
Shouldn't changes/removing in the trap commands make all mods incompatible?

You could try TCE, it should have the same problem ...

Regarding graphical engine updates I would really love to see a team that cares for slow and stable integration of features! I was always looking for cooperation partners interested in this, sadly none came up yet.
The updated Q2 engines, all based on Lord Havoks stuff always seemed to be one step ahead of the xreal way when it comes to stability and compatibility. You might also want to have a look at UrT_bumpy engine.

I can offer code for a very fast implementation of adaptive exposure (an improved version of TCs HDR effect using the engine) and very fast bloom based on some Q2 GPL code for your project. I had booth implemented and tested (very pleasing) in an old otherwise not convincing xreal fork. I would also share my improved q3map2 lighting code with perceptive tone mapping.

I would love to see an implementation of direct sunlight shadowmaps blending into baked direct sun lightmaps with distance and mixed with radiosity lightmaps like in Cod series and newer UDK versions.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group