All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 100 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:07 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:45 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Southern California
Love the idea of random spawn points but not when it's right on top of you. I can just take a step back and wait for the opposing team to spawn and sk all day. The radar is a great idea conceptually but I think it falls short. For instance I had to shoot through my teammate to kill the guy so I got the kill plus a TK which is what it's supposed to avoid. I think it would work nicely if it were ranged and not for up close combat. I also seem to have trouble getting through doorways but that just might be me.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cqb
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:16 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:30 am
Posts: 3
Location: Pakistan
I think the turning in mid air could be a little bit refined, but the 360 spin jumps from tce were ridiculous.. i think every1 got used to china jumping from side to side of doors or whatnot that now that the midair movement is limited it makes it harder to play haha
the lean being a perk was a surprise to me but i think every1 is gonna end up using it anyways since the knifing isnt great and the steady aim doesnt seem to be working or i at least couldnt feel a difference using it
.. i agree with baal when he said that bc doesnt do it justice.. i really like the game and it is a closer combat game and an objective would serve way more purpose than just bodycount.. doors and stairs are a bit slow yea but im digging the game!!

ps. the free look is awesome once i master this free look thing man im gonna be hooked on this game for sure


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:43 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 23
Location: Germany
Hello,
The new CQB is a milestone, but Every beginning is difficult. ;)
Until now, I noticed two major bugs, I dont know if they were already posted

1) Stair bug: When jumping on the handrail of the wooden stair you get sort of in a "non-mapped" area. the black hole. I think you know what I mean.

2) Lag (not in the internet/ping) when outside it seems that the picture and movement slows down extremely , as if the graphic card can't handle it. I hear how the fan of the radeon gears up... When I go inside any building, movement gets fast again and the buggy movement disappears.
PS: I have a ATI Radeon HD 4850 & Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (4 CPUs)

Does CQB have multicore support??

3rd bug: SG552ESOtech and other weapons when dropped have a colored triangle instead of the correctly displayed weapon laying on the floor. Some mapping may be needed :wink:

_________________
Xfire user
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:47 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:48 pm
Posts: 170
Location: Germany
the movement is nice, you ppl just have to get used to it :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:51 am 
Offline
Groove Six Studios
Groove Six Studios

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 309
Quote:
2) Lag (not in the internet/ping) when outside it seems that the picture and movement slows down extremely , as if the graphic card can't handle it. I hear how the fan of the radeon gears up... When I go inside any building, movement gets fast again and the buggy movement disappears.
PS: I have a ATI Radeon HD 4850 & Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (4 CPUs)


How's your fps dropping? Are you synched? then you might drop to a constant 30 fps. I noticed on my only test machine with ATI (4650) that alpha blending reduces fps quite a lot. Since maps will be more and more open and there will be more and more alpha blending (grass etc) this will not change. It might be an issue with the ET engine which I will not be able to address, CPU should not be the problem. I fear that Nvidia handles idtech3 better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:21 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:57 am
Posts: 250
Location: California, United States
=MAveXII=NoiR# wrote:
the movement is nice, you ppl just have to get used to it :)


Also translates to Happy April Fools everyone.

_________________
[00:29] [MASSA]Scarsraider: we keep TCE alive with our BC
[00:30] [MASSA]Scarsraider: we just got posts on our forums saying people want to play MASSA
[00:31] [MASSA]Scarsraider: but without massa bc this game would be dead
[00:31] [MASSA]Scarsraider: and u know it
[00:35] [MASSA]Scarsraider: probably every TCE player has at one point played on our BC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:14 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 23
Location: Germany
coroner wrote:
How's your fps dropping? Are you synched? then you might drop to a constant 30 fps. I noticed on my only test machine with ATI (4650) that alpha blending reduces fps quite a lot. Since maps will be more and more open and there will be more and more alpha blending (grass etc) this will not change. It might be an issue with the ET engine which I will not be able to address, CPU should not be the problem. I fear that Nvidia handles idtech3 better.


Yes, it seems to be this blending. What do you mean with synched?
I recorded a video for demonstraton (watch in 720p+extending the screen to read the FPS)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUrTYOGGG4Q

Here my current system settings in cqb:
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112475603-4.jpg




Hope I could help.
CCC driver version:
http://s1.directupload.net/images/110401/7yevg4n6.png


If I have time, i'll play with the settings to see what may stop the FPS drop


_____________________________________________
Edit: Roghly played with the CCC and TC:CQB settings, and the FPS drops stopped completely!
Here screenshots of CQB of the "problematic areas", now having a decent fps:
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112475895-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112475900-4.jpg

and new ATI settings.
http://s7.directupload.net/file/d/2481/wg3gukzj_png.htm
http://s1.directupload.net/file/d/2481/dinabjho_png.htm
http://s7.directupload.net/file/d/2481/umsc6wjh_png.htm

TC:CQB settings:
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476108-4.jpg

Still need to find a balance btw. the settings.

Mainly I deactivated triple buffering, and for smoothvision hd & hd antialiasing anisotrophic filter I selected use application settings and changed the filter from box to narrow tent. (dont have a clue what all the stuff is for :roll: )

___________________________

Edit2:
Now I put all tce system settings to maximum and in ati i activated triple buffering. Still have 90 fps in the blending areas :D

http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476713-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476720-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476747-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476764-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476788-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476788-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476808-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476830-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476851-4.jpg
http://screenshot.xfire.com/s/112476864-4.jpg

Original Quali pics without xfire compression
http://s7.directupload.net/file/d/2481/zoosnifi_png.htm
http://s7.directupload.net/file/d/2481/vstrzrt5_png.htm
http://s1.directupload.net/file/d/2481/5cl34ao2_png.htm

So for concluding, the solution was to activate the checkbox "application settings" in the Catalyst CC.
Hope I didn't violate diane's strict rules for this thread :wink:

_________________
Xfire user
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:21 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia/Germany
for better fps use box instead of narrow-tent
i found out that ati drivers arent really handling tce/cqb/et well. very often they wont even switch to full 3d clocks, which means you are running on 2/3 of ur gfx power(mostly).
i'll maybe write some guide/tutorial on ati cards/drivers this weekend if i have enough time. been spreading info a lot but never wrote it down :D
newest official (whql) drivers:
AMD Catalyst 11.3 Win 7 | Vista (64-bit)
AMD Catalyst 11.3 Win 7 | Vista (32-bit)
AMD Catalyst 11.3 Application Profiles (its always good to have them installed^^)

AMD Catalyst 11.3 Win XP (64-bit)
AMD Catalyst 11.3 Win XP (32-bit)

latest preview drivers:
AMD Catalyst 11.4 early Preview for Windows 7 (x86/x64) (for Vista x86/x64) (no xp afaik)

not sure which ati card u got (i guess 4xxx series?), 11.4 runs pretty nice on HD 5/6xxx series, for lower versions maybe use 11.3

//edit: damn was too lazy to see u got an x800, pretty old :D u gotta use 10.2 then i guess 10.2 xp 32bit

dont worry diane, will replace this post with a bug list when i got some time to test and make a tut out of this one ;)

_________________
=MaveXII=|WL Admin |IRC:#mave-clan
Image
*Clan Movie #2*|xfire: snakes3k


Last edited by SnaKeS3K on Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:26 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:44 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Hungary
Lean left/right not work for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:31 pm 
Offline
Groove Six Studios
Groove Six Studios

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 309
I just to give one advice (which I violated for a short time once myself)

Never buy - ATI.


edit by SnaKe(dont want another post):, not true, ati has a great price/performance ratio, if u know how to deal with settings and drivers everything runs perfectly (except in some rare cases :D), and nvidia drivers are far from perfect too...

edit by coroner

yeah, granted, as always, you have to know what you're doing :)


Last edited by coroner on Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:36 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
coroner wrote:
I just to give one advice (which I violated for a short time once myself)

Never buy - ATI.

//edit by SnaKe(dont want another post), not true, ati has a great price/performance ratio, if u know how to deal with settings and drivers everything runs perfectly (except in some rare cases :D), and nvidia drivers are far from perfect too...


My old ATI 1800GTO gave me steady 90FPS in TC:E, then I changed to nVidiaGTS250 and now I get only 10-45FPS. So I disagree strongly.

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:37 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 23
Location: Germany
gyo wrote:
Lean left/right not work for me.


Image
You can activate the lean function under combat/bendable...

Quote:
SnaKeS3K::
//edit: damn was too lazy to see u got an x800, pretty old Very Happy u gotta use 10.2 then i guess 10.2 xp 32bit

If you meant me, I have an m7720 from acer with ATI Radeon HD 4850...

I think I will not update drivers again, last time after an update my windows 7 crashed after each boot, I dont remember the error code. Besides, CQB works fine now with the old driver.

_________________
Xfire user
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:59 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:37 am
Posts: 20
Im loving it,but lean as a perk!?Change it with the free look,that could be a perk.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:24 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
Gu!zmO wrote:
Im loving it,but lean as a perk!?Change it with the free look,that could be a perk.


I partially agree.
Freelook, freeaim, leaning, freeclimb and such should be for all, this would make the limbo menu simpler 'cause one part could be entirely removed.

New system is OK the way it is, but I would never even consider anything over leaning.

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:38 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 23
Location: Germany
Agree too. I mean why is it sometimes disabled at the beginning when you join a server? If it is True Combat, then everybody is born with the ability to lean ;)

_________________
Xfire user
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 100 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group