All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

does the conquest/capture n hold work on CQB?
yes 56%  56%  [ 5 ]
no 33%  33%  [ 3 ]
i cant say 11%  11%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 9
Author Message
 Post subject: capture n hold on CQB ?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:25 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Finland
pollpollpoll :P

Yes that was pretty crazy to see coroner stating hes keeping that behind the ear.

What do you think. Is that good gametype for CQB? i think it will be pretty interesting thats sure. Example map: village. 6+6 people teams.
Capture points: both spawns, middle house which haves two floors, wooden house/building with only one floor (you can walk trough it to get to the both spawns, you know) and last the other side of the map that bombed and pretty craped building. Yes points are very widely but now thinking that theres only 12 players max. Sounds messy but could it work ?

Lol it will be interesting if it gets implemented.

_________________
Lurking

growing

getting stronger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:25 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 459
Quote:
What do you think. Is that good gametype for CQB?
Since it isn't out yet, I don't know.

Keep in mind that the current official TC:E maps aren't optimized for anything other than CS-like plant/defuse gamemode.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:38 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 266
Location: Louisiana, USA
Any game mode could work. Like Damien said, it boils down to the right maps. Kind of a rhetorical question, no?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:07 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Finland
pherhaps. But still i dont think we get large and sick ass maps. I want to redo that question. But still point is that instead of getting large and battlefield like maps we have close quarter maps like tce now haves. Best map example i think that if coroner makes current tce maps larger as he suggested earlier i would say that village is pretty much the best one for this kind of gametype.

So does it fit for this cqb like map desing?

Current maps would have pretty hard times but what i think is that it would be in the limits. You shouldnt concentrate to whole area. Whole map is more important. And distances are pretty short. So leaving one point in middle of two enemy camp will cause that that point is lost very quickly. More fast paced.

_________________
Lurking

growing

getting stronger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: capture n hold on CQB ?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:25 am 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
RedRuM wrote:
Example map: village. 6+6 people teams.
Capture points: both spawns, middle house which haves two floors, wooden house/building with only one floor (you can walk trough it to get to the both spawns, you know) and last the other side of the map that bombed and pretty craped building. Yes points are very widely but now thinking that theres only 12 players max. Sounds messy but could it work ?

Lol it will be interesting if it gets implemented.


hm actually I think one could edit that into the current village bsp and try it out, just a few wolf_checkpoint entitys and some scripting and you should be good to go

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:59 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:46 pm
Posts: 40
The map hideout_rc2 is a "capture all flags maps" (similar to "domination mode" in UT2004, except spwans don't change in tce).
It's a great gamemod.
There is another map like this : desert_town
How to play it : just set the map as a BC map, and it work.
It could be nice if spawns change (when a flag is captured, it become a new spawn).

_________________
NyX team Reborn : http://www.nyxtce.fr.nf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 1:04 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Finland
karnaj wrote:
The map hideout_rc2 is a "capture all flags maps" (similar to "domination mode" in UT2004, except spwans don't change in tce).
It's a great gamemod.
There is another map like this : desert_town
How to play it : just set the map as a BC map, and it work.
It could be nice if spawns change (when a flag is captured, it become a new spawn).


I check them out :D but if i can i also make small bot waypoints to test them little better.

_________________
Lurking

growing

getting stronger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:12 pm 
Offline
Rock Me, Amadeus!
Rock Me, Amadeus!

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 172
Location: Austria
karnaj wrote:
The map hideout_rc2 is a "capture all flags maps" (similar to "domination mode" in UT2004, except spwans don't change in tce).
It's a great gamemod.
There is another map like this : desert_town
How to play it : just set the map as a BC map, and it work.
It could be nice if spawns change (when a flag is captured, it become a new spawn).

obj_desert is one too mirrored on stealthzone (I did hideout and desert :P)

the chaning spawns is a nice idea, but not playable due to roe, also having the spawn change with more than 2 flags can be quite unpleasant when somone captures a flag at the wrong spot and you spawn there, there was a map called doomsday that had that system (dunno the pk3 name anymore)

_________________
"Fog is neither water nor air, it's something between." Merlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:22 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 459
merlin1991 wrote:
the chaning spawns is a nice idea, but not playable due to roe, also having the spawn change with more than 2 flags can be quite unpleasant when somone captures a flag at the wrong spot and you spawn there, there was a map called doomsday that had that system (dunno the pk3 name anymore)
That doesn't make dynamic spawns unusable, it just requires a bit more planning.

For an example, you could have 2 main red/blue spawn areas where teams start off at the beginning of each map. Then you could add lets say 4 more spawn areas in places where there's enough room for them and trigger_touch entities which activate them for each team via the script.
Using accum variables you can make sure the script isn't activated if there are enemies near the spawn or if the enemy's current spawn location is next to the one you're trying to activate, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:03 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Finland
just one question :O

Doesnt this require that spawn protection is off? It feels kinda stupid that when you are capturing suddenly someone spawns in front of your eyes?

_________________
Lurking

growing

getting stronger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:26 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
Damien wrote:
Using accum variables you can make sure the script isn't activated if there are enemies near the spawn or if the enemy's current spawn location is next to the one you're trying to activate, etc.

Reading helps.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:14 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Finland
Alpha Red wrote:
Damien wrote:
Using accum variables you can make sure the script isn't activated if there are enemies near the spawn or if the enemy's current spawn location is next to the one you're trying to activate, etc.

Reading helps.


I dont see the logic. So its basicly 100% sure capture if you go to spawn point ? Usualy enemy can spawn to that point while your flag is still up. After theres no flag you cant spawn. Thats the normal way it usualy functions :o

_________________
Lurking

growing

getting stronger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:28 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:46 pm
Posts: 40
Hey,

I've played on a japan server with the map "S_H_Station" or something like that.

It's a "capture flag and hold" very large map with dynamics spwans.
I'm not sure there is a roe rule when spawning (I remember played some gamemods with no roe).

_________________
NyX team Reborn : http://www.nyxtce.fr.nf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:21 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 157
Hmm, Bf2, cool.

:roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:38 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Finland
Rang3r1_v2 wrote:
Hmm, Bf2, cool.

:roll:


I was thinking that too but now im just curious how it works at close quarters.

_________________
Lurking

growing

getting stronger


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group