TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

TCE: Close Quarters Combat?
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=2077
Page 74 of 75

Author:  RedRuM [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:02 am ]
Post subject: 

im wondering about the recoil and balistics

i always hated this spikey horizontal recoil most new COD's have.

im hoppin we get balistics but im guessing not :(

Author:  Damien [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:23 am ]
Post subject: 

Well, it is possible:

http://www.moddb.com/mods/projectileweapons

Author:  RedRuM [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:15 pm ]
Post subject: 

Damien wrote:


sweet :D

Author:  coroner [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:00 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hmm, I would be careful about real ballistics, particularly since it is completely irrelevant for a CQB environment except for subsonic ammunition. In TC:CQB the ballistic routine is hardly ever executed.

Back to the basics. I am happy to feel some new wind blowing.
Regarding Damiens mapping post, I would like to evaluate how a change to 1024 pixel texture base affects the IW3 engine performance.
Good thing would be to convert the included Bog map from the SDK to 1024 texture resolution and to benchmark.
If this doesnt do a lot of harm, a change to 1024 pixel textures would be great but also a lot of work. What I dont like is mixed texture resolution. 1024 would mean that we (whoever that is) have to create all new maps with all new texs.
If somebody would like to start a high res test map, the next step is to play with scale. Some scales (drums, dumpsters) seem vastly off. Again, optimizing scale would also mean that stock COD4 maps are a no go for TC:SOF. I like those ideas, I am just saying this to make sure what the consequences are and that we need some dedicated mappers then.

I could offer a very first raw version (still COD4 UI and sounds etc.) but with all features mentioned in the blog within one week from now, I just have to add some finishing touches.

Improved and updated maps (cross different games) that I would like to see (optimally one main mapper assigned to each):

Snow from TCE (snowy style, removed choke point design)
Sample from CQB (urban style, one further street/backroute added)
Dust from CS(S) (arab style, removed choke point design, similar to global offensive version, I have a base version to start with)
Something like Favela from MW2 (tropical style)

Author:  Damien [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:03 pm ]
Post subject: 

Some CoD4 mapping tutorials worth checking out:

http://wiki.modsrepository.com/index.php/Call_of_Duty_4:_mapping_mp


Waiting for the first release. :)

EDIT:
And some more:

http://modsonline.com/Tutorials-list-17.html

BTW, it looks as if you can rotate large brush sets like complete buildings without creating a mess out of the brushwork.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

common coroner... i dont wanna buy COD4 to play your awesome game, please find another solution, make your own f2p game engine or something i really dont wanna buy a game just to play TC,, i know its cheap, but think again... not everyone has COD4,

Author:  Damien [ Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:35 pm ]
Post subject: 

The answer was there all along, it is as simple as making your own engine!


Wait a second, aren't you the guy that keeps spending a fortune on his gaming rig? Squeeze in a few bucks for CoD4.

Author:  |2oss® [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:33 am ]
Post subject: 

If you dont want to buy cod 4 right away just wait until you find out if the game coroner will be making is worth buying cod4 for. Dont rush into this so quickly until you know that the game will be to your liking. its VERY EARLY in the stages. Calm your nipples.

Author:  coroner [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:48 am ]
Post subject: 

If you don't own COD4 or don't want to buy it you can't play the mod. I like the F2P thing too, but there is no suitable F2P engine out at the moment. In addition it will be thanks to the content of COD4 (player models, radiant based mapping etc.) that an engine change will be doable in a reasonable amount of time at all.
And of course you can wait and see whether it will be worth the 'investment'.

Regarding COD4Radiant:

Pros:
Inbuild terrain/mesh editing tools with any number of blendable stacked surfaces including per vertex alpha blending and painting.

misc_prefab system that allows to load a .map file as a prefab and to rotate and treat it like misc_model in Wolf Radiant. The system also allows to split raw geometry and entities in different map 'layers'. You or some team member can later refine a building geometry which is a misc_prefab and all instances are updated in your map.

Cons:
I haven't found a way to change the default tex scale. This means any change from 512 pixels tex base will be pain in the ass. The good thing about this is that a lot of work is saved on the tex site and can go into mapping.

Author:  InVader [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:52 am ]
Post subject: 

Dragonathan wrote:
common coroner... I dont wanna buy COD4 to play your awesome game, please find another solution, make your own f2p game engine or something i really dont wanna buy a game just to play TC,, i know its cheap, but think again... not everyone has COD4,

you know how hard it is to build up a whole gfx engine? It's hard math and we're not talking about a little Java app here. And it needs usable interface and tools, too. Creating the gfx engine alone would take it's time until xmas... next year. :)

Author:  DennerBR [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:26 am ]
Post subject: 

One noob ask... but the mod couldn't run into a COD4 demo? I'm not a programmer, then if this is a stupid ask, sorry ...

Author:  |2oss® [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:11 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'm actually quite happy that the radiant is similar to the et radiant. Also am happy that you can use maya to do models and animations. Fortunately for me I took a class last year on how to model with maya :). Will have to dust off the book from my closet and begin to practice again. Might even take another course for fun for advanced modelling with maya.

Also... http://www.gamestop.com/pc/games/call-o ... fare/65506 call of duty 4 is 20 bucks.... Dont be cheap it actually has a decent single player mode tho the multiplayer is used and abused.

Author:  sxy [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:22 pm ]
Post subject: 

Coroner - what about Textures>Texture resolution ?


ps:
Ah it is the same old .map stuff :)
easy peasy:

Code:
iwmap 4
"000_Global" flags  active
"The Map" flags
// entity 0
{
"classname" "worldspawn"
// brush 0
{
 ( 64 32 -8 ) (  0 32 -8 ) (  0  0 -8 ) me_woodplanks01 128 128 0 0 0 0 lightmap_gray 16384 16384 0 0 0 0
 (  0  0  0 ) (  0 32  0 ) ( 64 32  0 ) me_woodplanks01 128 128 0 0 0 0 lightmap_gray 16384 16384 0 0 0 0
 (  0  0 56 ) ( 64  0 56 ) ( 64  0 -8 ) me_woodplanks01 128 128 0 0 0 0 lightmap_gray 16384 16384 0 0 0 0
 ( 64  0 56 ) ( 64 32 56 ) ( 64 32 -8 ) me_woodplanks01 128 128 0 0 0 0 lightmap_gray 16384 16384 0 0 0 0
 ( 64 64 56 ) (  0 64 56 ) (  0 64 -8 ) me_woodplanks01 128 128 0 0 0 0 lightmap_gray 16384 16384 0 0 0 0
 (  0 32 56 ) (  0  0 56 ) (  0  0 -8 ) me_woodplanks01 128 128 0 0 0 0 lightmap_gray 16384 16384 0 0 0 0
}
}


Where the two numbers (128 128 in this case) define the texture resolution (how many BSP square units are covered by texture. In this case the texture is repeated after 128u). Now, I know that manually editing .map is not very handy, but this shows that it definitely is possible.

http://wiki.modsrepository.com/index.ph ... _structure

Author:  coroner [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:35 pm ]
Post subject: 

@ sxy

of course it will be possible like this or better to have a 512 tex base for development and the same replaced by 1024 tex for the distribution/rendering. But honestly that's all P* in the a*. I wasn't considering these options.

Author:  InVader [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

Textures: you know I don't think you need 'em that big. I use UDK and whenever I need something to look nicer or more detailed, I just add a fat-layered "detail texture" (about 30 layers of stacked normal maps - anything that gives a chunky/grainy look) to the basic normal map and the bump map too. Maybe tile up the texture. Ppl usually do this in this engine. It's a cool trick. Saves you the mess with resizing and getting new textures.

I don't know if it's possible in the iwengine, or whether it even uses normal maps instead of height maps. Maybe you've been doing this all the time. I just thought I mention it. Might even be of help.

http://www.cgtextures.com/content.php?a ... =normalmap

This shows off the perfectly looking normal map - to which you add another one, created with the same technique, but from a different texture.

Edit: before adding the 2 normal maps, you need to "erase" the blue color information from one, and replace it with 0 (zero) value. If the engine can do it, it's good, 'cause it might be difficult or impossible to do that just in photoshop.

Oh and I highly recommend checking other stuff on that site as well. There are more tutorials with nice tricks(recoloring and complex tiling). There are perfect textures as well, even for 360° sky domes (HDR versions also avalaible).

Page 74 of 75 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/