TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

realistic human movements.
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=400
Page 2 of 2

Author:  it [ Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:22 am ]
Post subject: 

oh man that made me die!!!!!!!!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


MoCap is expensive. hell, even some studios are so cheap that they makea fideo of the dev doing the action on a webcam, and port it in.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:26 am ]
Post subject: 

whats the point. webcam cant do anything, you record video, all you got is video. :lol: no motion data at all. just plain series of images played at 30 fps.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:32 pm ]
Post subject: 

take a look a this video:
http://www.gametrailers.com/player.php? ... e&type=wmv

check out how flexible the movements look,
especially when the main character of the game is crouching while moving,

thats how the models in TCE should look like when they move while crouching :D

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

Like I said in the last topic regarding climbing ladders, you need to use skeletal animation to do that. It is available to certain modified Q3 Engines, its called MD4, but its disabled by default and only a few games really used it. ET uses MD3 per vertex animation which means animation that compares to that video will take the animators to the nut house. On the other hand, ET also has these formats called MDM and MDX, but I dont think those two are really useful because the only existing plugins for the bone structure available is for 3dSMax r3, which we all should know by now is nolonger available anywhere. Even if it is, it would be hard to find and get even through p2p with the lack of sources.

For further reading on the MD4 goto http://gongo.quakedev.com/md4.html and for the Quake 3 Engine GPL version http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quake_3_engine
and the Id Software FTP website with the GPLed engine ftp://ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/source/

Author:  Silentcrisis [ Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:16 am ]
Post subject: 

Dragonathan wrote:
XenoKiLLer wrote:
a MoCap studio costs hundreds o thousands even millions of dollars. Thats too much for a free mod for a free game.


hunders or thousands, yess
million of dollars, i doub!!

it is really expensive if you buy complete MoCap equipments,

but not if you ask A company that supports mocap technology's,
for some studio time.

and if its just to record the walking, trowing, jumping running movements,
maybe they let you do it for free,

on acceptions,


Do you hear that dev's?

You better start praying to hit the lottery or steal from charities because Dragon wants his *i-need-a-broader-vocab* MoCap and wants it ASAP.

If not, then no positive publicity for you! :roll:


Start thinking in realistic boundaries Dragon. :P

If I hit the lottery I wouldn't spend it by making donations to free ET mods, I would hire several people and have them make it for me then make everyone spend $50 to buy it.

~Silentcrisis

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Thu Mar 16, 2006 2:37 am ]
Post subject: 

lol. $50 huh. I'll just buy Counter Strike Source or HL2 Platinum, its got a lot more mods than ET an most of them are really good and productive. lol.

A big plus to me is that TCE is free and is a mod for a free game and it also has quality.

Even if we could afford MoCap, the animation system used in Quake3, MD3, doesnt support MoCap. MD3 uses per-vertex animation as I have been blabering about for a very long time. MoCap needs skeletal animation systems, and the only two Quake based systems that use skeletal systems are MD4 (which is not used and unsupported), and the MD5 of Doom3. SO, the only way we can make use of MoCap is when the mod gets a 3rd sequel in the Doom3 engine.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/