All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:42 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:52 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland.
I put it there :3 - But would be nice to see it on an active obj server.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:28 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Poland
Map obj_downside now avalable on AK-47.PL TC:E OBJ

/connect 95.143.243.24:27965

Great work Bruce and Dim$tar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:32 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:52 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland.
C:/Programme/Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/Radiant-1.4/tcemap2/q3map2

Anyone have tc:q3map2?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 12:00 pm 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 3:43 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Noord-Holland, The Netherlands
tcemap2 was a modified version of q3map2. where, from as far as I remember, coronor made a few enhancements on spotlights to give more control. I think it also had some optimisation for the HDR rendering techniques that he was working on at the time, which meant basically that the sun's light value would be a realistic lux or lumens figure, like 60.000 or something crazy, which would then work better with light bounces.

it was not released to the public because according to the licensing agreement of q3map2 that would mean the source code would have to be publicised, something coronor didn't want to do at the time.

cool to see some of the screenshots here of these old levels :)

_________________
There is no love in an abandoned steel mill.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 1:49 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:52 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Liquid wrote:
tcemap2 was a modified version of q3map2. where, from as far as I remember, coronor made a few enhancements on spotlights to give more control. I think it also had some optimisation for the HDR rendering techniques that he was working on at the time, which meant basically that the sun's light value would be a realistic lux or lumens figure, like 60.000 or something crazy, which would then work better with light bounces.

it was not released to the public because according to the licensing agreement of q3map2 that would mean the source code would have to be publicised, something coronor didn't want to do at the time.

cool to see some of the screenshots here of these old levels :)


We can not compile using the string bruce shared with us using stock q3map2 also the _bla settings used in worldspawn do nothing either on stock q3map2. try as we might, 3rd party mappers always have to put up with there end maps not looking as good as official :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 3:14 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Yes, you can....


http://q3map2.robotrenegade.com/docs/sh ... aders.html

Apply it to the shader used in Bruce's Obj_village (you'll need to change one line, add a
number at the end) and use the max settings on the compile string.
It then should take 12-24hrs (my Helena facility map took 36hrs) to compile a standard
sized TC map. If it's done faster, like the compile times you told me, then you're doing it
wrong. I'd advice trying it with an empty map first.

If you get a little hazy atmospheric effect, you're on the right track.

All I know is that it took me forever to get it working correctly and tweaked the way I
wanted (300-400 hrs). I won't help with finding the correct string again, although I am
willing to borrow CPU time (you provide the compile string, I'll push compile over here).

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 5:05 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:52 pm
Posts: 314
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Caesar77 wrote:
Yes, you can....

Yes, You can.. what, use Bruce's string or get the _bla to work in worldspawn settings?

So by editting sky shader following the guide at the link you posted, I can compile with stock q3map2 using string:
Code:
-light -fast -v -samplesize 4 -perceptiveLightmap 6 -perceptiveLightmapPredistort 1 -perceptiveLightmapMaxLum 10000 -perceptiveLightmapExposure 20 -perceptiveLightmapMin 24 -clampColor -samples 2 -filter -bounce 3 -bouncegrid -bouncescale 1.0 -patchshadows -external -lightmapsize 256
?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: redone TC:E weapons packages
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 8:22 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
With yes you can I meant that you can get an awesome looking map without Coroner's
version of Q3map2. It will just need a lot of time, coz some A-hole named Caesar never
shared the compile string and sun shader before the noobtard wrote over it with old data....

You definitely could use Bruce's string but you'll only have to leave the commands in that
are on Q3map2's list. My compile string wasn't as long as Bruce's, with nearly not as much
commands. Everything with the word perceptive is something Coroner's version of Q3map2
uses, also the command ClampColor isn't used in Q3map2 (but is in Unvanquished).

You could make -bounce and -sample a higher value, bounce can even be 1000 but wouldn't recommend it that high.

But the compile string is only one part, the other part is having a good sun shader

q3map_sunExt 1.0 0.99 0.94 110 -35 25 X Y
value of x can be between 0.5 and 3, I'd use 3)
value of y you can use 16,32 or even 64
q3map_lightmapFilterRadius 0 X
For value X you can use 6-16

Prepare to go nuts over this prob.... and expect at least 50-100 fail compiles

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group