All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Game Crash bug.
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 11:13 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Lx, Portugal
I've been playing TC:e for quite some time know, and after I've installed tc:e on this new box with Win XP pro SP2 (had never used Tc:e on windows), it's crashing a lot, almost every round or so... Is this a known bug ? Are there any settings I might change to prevent that ?
I'm starting the game with ET.exe +set fs_game tcetest +set com_hunkMegs 128 +set com_zoneMegs 64 +set com_soundMegs 32

I've got a 2.5@3.2 cpu and 1 GB ddr400, so it's not a lack of hardware. If anyone has a clue about what might be going on, feel free to reply ;)

thanks.

_________________
Eat right, stay fit, die anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 4:06 am 
Offline
Mr. Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:24 am
Posts: 45
Location: Florida
I too run on XP (sp1), with much less ram than you have.
I suffer from the ocassional crash but I'm almost sure that is RAM related.

First make sure all your video and sound drivers are up to date.
(this is the most common cause)

You could try upping your memory settings with all that ram...can't hurt.

+set com_hunkMegs 256 +set com_zoneMegs 128 +set com_soundMegs 32

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:20 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Lx, Portugal
new addon:

I've changed hunk_megs to 512 and the game's still crashing.
Even though I've got a 9600xt, I put it @ 800*600 low details, and it's still crashing... Anymore thoughts ?

_________________
Eat right, stay fit, die anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 7:33 pm 
Offline
Site Staff
Site Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:19 am
Posts: 5384
Location: Charlotte, NC [USA]
This REALLY sounds like a driver / hardware issue since it isn't triggered by a specific event within the game. Please post your system specs (video care, sound card, etc) so we can attempt to troubleshoot it better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 11:37 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Lx, Portugal
Here goes...


amd xp+ D (barton) 2.5 @ 3.2
2x512 ddr400
200 GB ATA133 WD
emu10k1 (sb live 5.1) -> using kx audio driver 3537
ati radeon 9600xt using omega drivers 2.6.12
Asus A7N8X

And that's about it...

Oh, and I'm running windows XP pro SP2.

cheers.

_________________
Eat right, stay fit, die anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 3:09 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 8:38 pm
Posts: 109
Location: south jersey
i doubt it has alot to do with hardware...

my friend has a 256ddr geforce, it still crashes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 5:24 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 11:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Lx, Portugal
That's what I'm saying, mine's a r9600xt 256 ddr, so it would run this game @ 1024 with everything max'ed out really fine. I still don't understand these crashes, but they seem to be happening only in a few servers. I've read something about some issues due to administrator account name changes. It seems there is a solution regarding the change of a few priviliges to allow "our" new administrator account or renamed one, to use a few functions or to allow it to operate correctly. Nevertheless, my efforts to know more about the subject have been frustrated, since I've not been able to find a related article/post. But I remember reading something about it in ETF (e.t. fortress) foruns. I shall try to find the article again.


cheers

_________________
Eat right, stay fit, die anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:06 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:04 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Indiana
I too have been having a problem with crashes. I run a decent system, with a Radeon 9800 Pro, maybe its the radeons? You are running one as am I. I too have windows xp pro w/ service pack 2, maybe its a combo of the two? I don't know, all I know is that its making mad when I'm doing good in a round and it freezes.



Blade


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:55 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:04 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Indiana
I fixed by problem! It was HEAT, my rig didn't have enough airflow. Just make sure your fans are positioned so you get a flow not just in and out...but in and out in correct places! to Create a draft!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group