All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 2:09 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Sure they are working on 3d programs, that doesnt mean it is easy to make highpoly CG animations. 3d modeeling and animation used in in-game assets is different from 3d used in fully animated cinematics.

Maya and Max are both used to make CG movies and CG effects, even if they had these it stillw uoldnt make it any easier plus alone, these two programs cannot really do much by themselves - which is why there is no single CG team in the world that relies only on the base application - they all use expensive thirdparty applications and other sister applications to get work done. Yet that still doesnt simplify things enough. Did you know how long it took to render 1 minute of action sequence in Star Wars? it took weeks.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 2:20 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
why the hell r u comparing with Star wars?

but yes it takes allot of effort and time to make a CG video, for something like this devs would need an additional side team just for this video,

another option is real life video's, using real actors that preform infront of a blue screen allowing the devs to use the real ingame 3d maps for the background, that would be awesome,

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Last edited by Dragonathan on Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Problem is, someone has to do the rotoscoping and image compositing aswell as camera tracking. Our best chances is just sticking with the GMOD sandbox, use TCE maps and models converted to Source, and litarally using Source as the set and studio. Because in Gmod, we can setup the sequences anyway we want to making it easier to setup desired action sequences. With TCE's fake HDRi, we really shouldnt see the difference between a Source game and TCE itself. That is much easier than making CG animations or using bluescreen.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:54 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
whatever tools the devs have to use to make the video, doesnt really matter... as long it has allot of eye candy's to attract new potential players.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Last edited by Dragonathan on Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:06 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
They use Radiant and either Blender and or Maya. Either way you wont get far.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:11 pm 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
or they could use sony vegas,

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:01 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 539
You know, if the devs gave people crack to play TC:E, then chances are the player based would increase, there are a lot of crack heads in the world. Just a thought.

_________________
No Dragon, red is my new color.
I once spelt violet voilate, I will carry that cross to my grave.
Dragonathan, no I can't.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:19 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 2007
-ATHF-FryLock wrote:
You know, if the devs gave people crack to play TC:E, then chances are the player based would increase, there are a lot of crack heads in the world. Just a thought.


but they'd never leave, and might beg for more, though :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:26 am 
Offline
Forum Master
Forum Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 4:50 am
Posts: 1049
Location: Teh US
Dragonathan wrote:
or they could use sony vegas,


Vegas is a video production suite, it's completely different than Blender and such. It has nothing to do with making a CG sequence, it only has to do with peicing things together. Although, in the case of video production, you can still make a video look good using Windows Movie Maker, it just takes a great deal more skill.
I might be getting Vegas for my birthday, maybe I could be of assistance.... It is, after all, what I do. :D

_________________
"Who's chair is that?... who put that G**Damn chair here? It's not my chair. Not my chair not my problem, that's what I say"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:56 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
Evil_Muska wrote:
Vegas is a video production suite, it's completely different than Blender and such. It has nothing to do with making a CG sequence,


omg, u didnt fallowed the whole conversation completely,
we were talking about real life video's aswell.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:25 pm 
Offline
Forum Master
Forum Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 4:50 am
Posts: 1049
Location: Teh US
Dragonathan wrote:
Evil_Muska wrote:
Vegas is a video production suite, it's completely different than Blender and such. It has nothing to do with making a CG sequence,


omg, u didnt fallowed the whole conversation completely,
we were talking about real life video's aswell.


Ok, so sue me, Gawd. :x

_________________
"Who's chair is that?... who put that G**Damn chair here? It's not my chair. Not my chair not my problem, that's what I say"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:57 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 539
My legal advisers tell me that a law suit wouldn't be wise, but I never listen to my dogs; so, SEE YOU IN COURT!

_________________
No Dragon, red is my new color.
I once spelt violet voilate, I will carry that cross to my grave.
Dragonathan, no I can't.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:37 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 280
Location: USA, California
Dragonathan, I appreciate your reply and the respect you showed. Cheers. :D

Seems as though someone hacked my site and my file feature is gone. Weird....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group