All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How to make own server?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:53 pm 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:57 pm
Posts: 12
Does anyone know website where is simple tutorial how to make own server for free? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 3:34 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:36 am
Posts: 433
Location: tri(p) city
IMPORTANT:
when moving coursor on setting you will see tip come up abot this function regarding it funcionality.

settings ive shown aint secure, could be used temporary for showing game to your buddies or something.

if you want to set up 24/7 server it is more complex and requires much more atention that the method ive just shown.


Pick HOST GAME
Image


Configure MAIN SERVER SETTINGS eg. server name/player limit/map/...
Image



Configure ADVANCED SERVER SETTINGS
(when completed hit BACK button & START SERVER)
Image


You can connect to your server by picking in server browser SOURCE: LAN & everybody else will see it in SOURCE: INTERNET
Image


Last edited by $omator on Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:49 am, edited 7 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 3:36 pm 
Offline
Team Terminator
Team Terminator

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:22 am
Posts: 1397
Post links or thumbs when you are posting HUGE screens, plz.

_________________
Image
Steam // TrueCombat // C22


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 3:37 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:36 am
Posts: 433
Location: tri(p) city
yess mistress, doinf thumbnails atm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:55 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:29 pm
Posts: 23
Location: the Mighty American Empire
I just want to run a server so that I can see the map baumaut that I downloaded, but this server wont let me run it, for the love of GOD, someone please tell me how to run a server or game so that I can just look at the map ingame.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:21 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 280
Location: USA, California
Drop your console by hitting the "~" (Tilde) button and type "/set sv_official 0" then "/devmap obj_mapname".

Replace mapname with the .bsp name, e.g. "obj_baumaut".

Sometimes mappers have extensions like _rc1 or _alpha. So its important to open up the .pk3 archive with winzip or winrar and get the exact name of the .bsp. This should do the trick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:55 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 181
Stealth wrote:
Drop your console by hitting the "~" (Tilde) button and type "/set sv_pure o" then "/devmap obj_mapname".

Replace mapname with the .bsp name, e.g. "obj_baumaut".

Sometimes mappers have extensions like _rc1 or _alpha. So its important to open up the .pk3 archive with winzip or winrar and get the exact name of the .bsp. This should do the trick.


"/set sv_pure 0"
can be"sdsjd" doesnt matter but /set sv_official "0" is needed here(edited the post)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:56 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:29 pm
Posts: 23
Location: the Mighty American Empire
That worked thankyou, how would I run the map obj_bahamut_final in a dedicated server, attach a .cfg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:28 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:36 am
Posts: 433
Location: tri(p) city
from my pics...

at second one:
-pick bahmout from the map list section Name
-pick Dedicated server YES - Internet or Yes - LAN

at third pic:
-turn off downloading from downloading section at the bottom By setting Client downloads to no
(if you would not do this any client connecting will try to download every single pk3 file you have got in your tctest folder and he does not and that could take ages so you must clean up this folder from useless pk3's or make another installation of tce for server only with your desired map pk3s only)

if dedicated internet a console window will apear at your screen where you can control your server. you can connect to it picking the method showed on screen four. pay atention Source is set to LAN.

If youve picked Dedicated - Internet everybody will see your sever at servers browser Source: Internet and if you picked Dedicated - LAN they will see it at Source: LAN

//edit: deleted -switch Pure server to no


Last edited by $omator on Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:00 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 9:50 am
Posts: 78
Location: Poland
First question is - what dedicated server do you have? Do you want to serve the game from your local PC? Is it windows or linux?

About sv_pure 0 - this is not necessary for playing custom stuff, and it's really not good setting. Why? When sv_pure is set to 0, all players will be able to use some non-installed on your server pk3 files. In this case somebody could make his own pk3 file with transparent texture of the wall, so he will see through it.

To use non-official packs all you need is to set sv_official to 0 and then start the server.

You also should use etded.exe (windows) or etded.x86 (linux) to run dedicated server. Try to do this via command line, it could look like this:

Code:
etded.exe +set sv_pure 1 +set sv_official 0 +set dedicated 2 +set net_port 27960 +set sv_punkbuster 1 +set com_hunkmegs 256 +set com_zonemegs 128 +set com_soundmegs 64 +set g_gametype 7 +exec blabla.cfg


Explanation:
sv_pure 1 - only pure pk3 installed on your server available
sv_official 0 - this will allow you to run non-official stuff
dedicated 2 - server will be run in dedicated mode
net_port 27960 - sets the port for your server (eg. 27960)
sv_punkbuster 1 - enables PunkBuster (recommended)
com_hunkmegs / com_zonemegs /com_soundmegs - memory reservation for your server
g_gametype 7 - game mode (7 - bodycount, 5 - objective, 2 - ctf)
exec blabla.cfg - this will execute your server configuration file (named it as you want, but try to not use server.cfg name)

This is only example how to run simple server. All other settings should be put in configuration file.

An example of configuration file
ET server setup and advance commands

Enjoy!

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:05 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:29 pm
Posts: 23
Location: the Mighty American Empire
This is what I got so far for server.cfg
Code:
//
CTF server

set dedicated "2"
set g_gametype "2"
set sv_official 0
set sv_pure 0

// IP settings
//set net_ip ""
//set net_port "27960"


// Memory settings
set com_hunkmegs "128"
//set com_soundmegs 64
set com_zonemegs "64"


// max players, private slots and passwords

set sv_maxclients "16"
//set g_password ""
//set sv_privateclients "0"
//set sv_privatepassword ""
//set rconpassword "your_rcon_password_here"
//set refereePassword "your_ref_password_here"


// connection options

set sv_maxRate "25000"
set sv_dl_maxRate "100000"
set snaps 40
set sv_timeout ""
set sv_reconnectlimit "8"


// map etc download options

set sv_allowDownload "0"
set sv_wwwDownload "1"
set sv_wwwBaseURL "custom_file_download_url_here"
set sv_wwwDlDisconnected "0"
//set sv_wwwFallbackURL ""


// hostname and motd (motd is currently useless imo)


// servername and motd
set sv_hostname "Yellow Cab OKC"     
set server_motd1 "CTF maps only"
set server_motd2 ""
set server_motd3 ""
set server_motd4 ""
set server_motd5 ""
set sv_fullmsg "^rServer is full, please be patient"


// VOTING

set g_allowVote "1"
set vote_limit "2"
set vote_percent "52"
set vote_allow_comp "0"
set vote_allow_gametype "0"
set vote_allow_kick "1"
set vote_allow_map "0"
set vote_allow_matchreset "1"
set vote_allow_mutespecs "1"
set vote_allow_nextmap "1"
set vote_allow_restartmap "1"
set vote_allow_pub "0"
set vote_allow_referee "0"
set vote_allow_shuffleteams "0"
set vote_allow_swapteams "0"
set vote_allow_friendlyfire "0"
set vote_allow_timelimit "0"
set vote_allow_warmupdamage "0"
set vote_allow_antilag "0"
set vote_allow_balancedteams "1"
set vote_allow_muting "1"


// settings

set g_heavyWeaponRestriction "100"
set g_antilag "1"
set g_altStopwatchMode "0"
set g_autofireteams "0"
set g_fastres "0"
set g_friendlyFire "1"
set g_leanmode "1"
set g_minGameClients "0"
set g_maxlives "0"
set g_alliedmaxlives "0"
set g_axismaxlives "0"
set g_noTeamSwitching "0"
set g_voiceChatsAllowed "4"
set g_warmup "8"
set g_dowarmup "0"
set sv_floodProtect "1"
set sv_pure "1"
set sv_minping "0"
set sv_maxping "0"
set sv_fps "30"
set match_latejoin "1"
set match_minplayers "0"
set match_mutespecs "0"
set match_readypercent "100"
set match_timeoutcount "0"
set match_warmupDamage "0"
set team_maxplayers "0"
set team_nocontrols "1"
set pmove_fixed "0"
set pmove_msec "8"
set g_spectatorInactivity "0"


// LMS settings

set g_lms_currentMatch "0"
set g_lms_lockTeams "0"
set g_lms_followTeamOnly "1"


// punkbuster config

set sv_punkbuster 1
pb_sv_enable
// logging
pb_SV_AliasAutoload 1
pb_sv_aliasMax 10
pb_sv_scoreKick "0"
Pb_sv_noguidgrace 0
pb_sv_changeMax 10
pb_sv_minName 1
pb_sv_EmptyName 0



set g_log "TCE.log"
set g_logsync 1
set logfile 2


// something

set com_watchdog 60
set com_watchdog_cmd "exec maps.cfg"
set map obj_bahamut_final

exec ctfmaps.cfg


and for the ctfmaps.cfg
please tell me if this config will work for a map rotation.
Code:
// mapcycle
 
set map1 "map obj_bahamut_final ; set nextmap vstr map2"
set map2 "map obj_closecombat_se ; set nextmap vstr map3"
set map3 "map obj_dedust_final ; set nextmap vstr map1"

vstr map1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:04 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia/Germany
yes it should work but change:
set sv_pure "1" (in the server.cfg)
and use a timelimit in either your server or maps.cfg:
set g_usertimelimit "15" (e.g. 15 minutes)

_________________
=MaveXII=|WL Admin |IRC:#mave-clan
Image
*Clan Movie #2*|xfire: snakes3k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:03 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:14 am
Posts: 11
Location: US
I have set up a dedicated server but when i try to connect tc:e tells me the server disconnected...

here is the log from the server window

Client 1 connecting with 0 challenge ping
Client 1 connecting with 3000 challenge ping
write session data client 0, type 0, latched 0
ClientConnect: 0
Userinfo: \cg_etVersion\Enemy Territory, ET 2.60\cg_uinfo\13 0 30\g_password\none\cl_guid\5D5CA5D71201DBC62447515285AD671D\cg_toggleCrouch\1\cg_toggleAiming\1\cg_freeAim\0\cl_anonymous\0\snaps\20\rate\25000\name\miotatsu\cl_wwwDownload\1\cl_punkbuster\1\protocol\84\qport\866\challenge\614705656\ip\192.168.1.103:27960
ClientUserinfoChanged: 0 n\miotatsu\t\3\c\0\r\0\m\0000000\s\0000000\dn\\dr\0\w\0\lw\0\sw\0\mu\0\ref\0
Sending heartbeat to etmaster.idsoftware.com
ClientDisconnect: 0
Sending heartbeat to etmaster.idsoftware.com

I set up the server following the information posted by simons and am running the server on Windows Vista

I'd really like to know how to get this to work ;.;

_________________
:O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:28 am 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:03 pm
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia/Germany
hmm need more info.
is it dedicated for lan or inet?
post ur server.cfg
give us the complete server-logfile and also the client logfile, (/logfile 2) it'll most likely show the reason why ur being disconnected.

_________________
=MaveXII=|WL Admin |IRC:#mave-clan
Image
*Clan Movie #2*|xfire: snakes3k


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:39 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:14 am
Posts: 11
Location: US
well now the server crashes when i try to start it (i have been tinkering with it)
here is the full config file

Code:
//
CTF server

set dedicated "2"
set g_gametype "5"
set sv_official 0
set sv_pure 1

// IP settings
//set net_ip ""
//set net_port ""


// Memory settings
set com_hunkmegs "128"
//set com_soundmegs 64
set com_zonemegs "64"


// max players, private slots and passwords

set sv_maxclients "16"
//set g_password ""
//set sv_privateclients "0"
//set sv_privatepassword ""
//set rconpassword "your_rcon_password_here"
//set refereePassword "your_ref_password_here"


// connection options

set sv_maxRate "25000"
set sv_dl_maxRate "100000"
set snaps 40
set sv_timeout ""
set sv_reconnectlimit "8"


// map etc download options

set sv_allowDownload "0"
set sv_wwwDownload "1"
set sv_wwwBaseURL "custom_file_download_url_here"
set sv_wwwDlDisconnected "0"
//set sv_wwwFallbackURL ""


// hostname and motd (motd is currently useless imo)


// servername and motd
set sv_hostname "mionet"     
set server_motd1 ""
set server_motd2 ""
set server_motd3 ""
set server_motd4 ""
set server_motd5 ""
set sv_fullmsg "^rServer is full, please be patient"


// VOTING

set g_allowVote "1"
set vote_limit "2"
set vote_percent "52"
set vote_allow_comp "0"
set vote_allow_gametype "0"
set vote_allow_kick "1"
set vote_allow_map "0"
set vote_allow_matchreset "1"
set vote_allow_mutespecs "1"
set vote_allow_nextmap "1"
set vote_allow_restartmap "1"
set vote_allow_pub "0"
set vote_allow_referee "0"
set vote_allow_shuffleteams "0"
set vote_allow_swapteams "0"
set vote_allow_friendlyfire "0"
set vote_allow_timelimit "0"
set vote_allow_warmupdamage "0"
set vote_allow_antilag "0"
set vote_allow_balancedteams "1"
set vote_allow_muting "1"


// settings

set g_heavyWeaponRestriction "100"
set g_antilag "1"
set g_altStopwatchMode "0"
set g_autofireteams "0"
set g_fastres "0"
set g_friendlyFire "1"
set g_leanmode "1"
set g_minGameClients "0"
set g_maxlives "0"
set g_alliedmaxlives "0"
set g_axismaxlives "0"
set g_noTeamSwitching "0"
set g_voiceChatsAllowed "4"
set g_warmup "8"
set g_dowarmup "0"
set sv_floodProtect "1"
set sv_pure "1"
set sv_minping "0"
set sv_maxping "0"
set sv_fps "30"
set match_latejoin "1"
set match_minplayers "0"
set match_mutespecs "0"
set match_readypercent "100"
set match_timeoutcount "0"
set match_warmupDamage "0"
set team_maxplayers "0"
set team_nocontrols "1"
set pmove_fixed "0"
set pmove_msec "8"
set g_spectatorInactivity "0"


// LMS settings

set g_lms_currentMatch "0"
set g_lms_lockTeams "0"
set g_lms_followTeamOnly "1"


// punkbuster config

set sv_punkbuster 1
pb_sv_enable
// logging
pb_SV_AliasAutoload 1
pb_sv_aliasMax 10
pb_sv_scoreKick "0"
Pb_sv_noguidgrace 0
pb_sv_changeMax 10
pb_sv_minName 1
pb_sv_EmptyName 0



set g_log "TCE.log"
set g_logsync 1
set logfile 2


// something

set com_watchdog 60
set com_watchdog_cmd "exec maps.cfg"
devmap obj_snow

exec ctfmaps.cfg

_________________
:O


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group