TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

Only 7 servers!?
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=859
Page 1 of 1

Author:  c0ldh4nd [ Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Only 7 servers!?

Hello guys.
I'm new at this game and I must say it's cool.
But first and most big problem is that I only get 7 servers and all of them have 100 ping or more. Why is that? Are there really only 7 servers???

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:50 pm ]
Post subject: 

Welcome.

First of all all issues and bugs with all the appropriate solutions ar eposted under the general support section
http://www.truecombat.us/forums/viewtopic.php?t=851

Anyway, this is the solution to your problem.

"Empty server list"
solution: In the server browser make sure that "source" is set to "internet"
solution: Open the console (~) and type "/cl_maxping 800, press enter and refresh the list"
solution: Open up the firewall for ports 27950 to 27970
solution: Check your ISP and make sure you are getting a connection
solution: Use a third party server broswer

----------

ext.
solution: make sure all the server filters are off.
solution: click on the refresh button
solution: Use All-Seeing-Eye, Qtracker, Gamespy Arcade, or XFire.


-XenoKiLLer-

Author:  it [ Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

you might also want to host a game, and as the map is loading, see if it says beta 4 build 6 or beta 4 build 8.

more often than not it's .46 instead of .48.

*edit* and the ping isn't controllable. 99% of the time it's out of any players hands. hell, sometimes I'll play witha ping of 40, then a few mins later, on the same server I'm at 130.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

better yet, just play on the 100-170 ping servers. Those wont do much lag if you setup your settings for ingame detail properly and it will be hardly noticeable.

Author:  it [ Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
better yet, just play on the 100-170 ping servers. Those wont do much lag if you setup your settings for ingame detail properly and it will be hardly noticeable.


that's what I do...

anything under 300 for a server is good. under250 for a player is good too. over 250 is not good, and 500+is unacceptable.

also, sometimes you'll find a server that has a high ping in the browser, but when you join it's faster than you'd think (on xfire, I've had ones at 2k pings, but because it was the client mis-match that caused the lag, they had only around 150 for a ping.)

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:50 pm ]
Post subject: 

well for best results a third party specialized server browser is always better. ASE or Qtracker will do. XFrie is good especially when you plan to play with friends but it's browser is inefficient. Gamespy arcade can do that same but not without disturbing you with hundreds of ads every now and then.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/