TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

unuser-friendly 0.49b patch
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=1318
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Dragonathan [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:16 pm ]
Post subject:  unuser-friendly 0.49b patch

watah tah f.ck!! i dont know how to install 0.49b...

damnn the old 0.48 patch was more easier to install i just dubble click it and a popup appears with a loading bar ect. ect. it was more easier, and now i get this computer geeky microsoft bill gate file watah f.ck!!

how do i install it ? and what happend to the user-friendly interfaces?

:(

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

Didnt Diane already put on the news that 049b has been pulled. So there is no use to get it.

If it is in zip format anyway, just extract it and copy the files intot eh TCEtest folder while retaining the same folder structure. Unless, if you extracted it and it comes with a TCETest folder, then open that folder and just copy all the contents into the TCEtest folder in your directory.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
Didnt Diane already put on the news that 049b has been pulled. So there is no use to get it.


mann mann... it seems i get the news more earlier than you...
Quote:
Written by LordOfKaos
Tuesday, 02 January 2007
Further to the previous news post, the new fixed version of TC:E 0.49b has been released. This release does not add anything extra to the game but rather fixes an issue within delta.

The file is named: tce049b_all_os_fixed.zip please note the _fixed suffix.


by the way i allready fixed it, too bad that the popup window with the loader to update tc:e with a new patch isnt used anymore, that was way way better.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

I already know that. Well the loader bar isnt really necessary. All you need to know is where they were extracted

Author:  Dragonathan [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:48 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
I already know that.


than what the hell is this mate?
XenoKiLLer wrote:
Didnt Diane already put on the news that 049b has been pulled. So there is no use to get it.


anyways...

that pop-up with a progress bar was necessary,

because you didnt have to move any files you just simply click once and evrything was automaticly arranged,

what not necessary? :roll:

Author:  it [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

it's a .zip file with some .pk3s and junk. if you can't extract that, you probably shouldnt be playing.

oh, and do you know how inconvineint it is for the devs to make a .exe installer? if they do that it's literally 4 times the work. after the windows one is made, they need to make a mac installer, then a linux one, and then the ..zip again for those of us who like using winzip/winrar.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

It is just a simple package. It is also a hotfix so they didnt really have time to make a proper patcher.

Author:  LadyDeath [ Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:05 am ]
Post subject: 

download

extract to tcefolder

overwrite all

what could be simplier than that???

lawl

Author:  Dragonathan [ Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:53 pm ]
Post subject: 

once again... most people arent computer experts,

infact more than 8 people asked me how to install 0.49b patch :roll:

Author:  it [ Sun Jan 07, 2007 4:47 pm ]
Post subject: 

I had 15 ask me on how to install .49, so I don't see a problem.

Author:  Evil_Muska [ Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:05 am ]
Post subject: 

Dragonathan wrote:
once again... most people arent computer experts...


So now you have to be an expert to know how to extract a zip file? :?

I guess they should have included a Readme file (or did they?).

Author:  Diane [ Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:08 am ]
Post subject: 

even for computer "experts", it can be a little tricky because the patch creates a sub folder. Most computer "experts" would just unzip it to the folder without blinking an eye and not even notice or realize the subfolder and encounter problems (that's what I did when I installed the alpha - I didn't even notice the subfolder until I couldn't connect to the beta server. So yea, it can happen to anyone).

Although this isn't a major or complicated issue, I agree that we need to clarify installation and will do so more thoroughly in the future.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

It is kinda like a hotfix, you cant blame them for its installation quality.

Author:  -ATHF-FryLock [ Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

Personally, I think that if you can't find it out, then you shouldn't be allowed to play, but I'm just mean and don't want noobs playing with me.

Author:  it [ Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

if you can't patch with a .zip file, you're probably the kind who goes "how I shot gun?" in-game. also, with some of the stuff you have to do to get the game running perfect, you'd never figure it out and get kicked for ping/whatever issues.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/