TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

big update files only
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=1097
Page 2 of 4

Author:  Dragonathan [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
The k2network is an mmo company....


not mmo only, they provide a network for WARROCK

Author:  it [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

true, though it does cost money, and from what I see of it, PB does enough. besides, auto-updating bugs me... I like to archive versions, hell, I"m even going to install just ET 2.55 for kicks.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

auto-update will give the community fast updates. just think about it,
instead of waiting 1 year for 1 version, they could build up the upcomming version 1 by 1

Author:  Evil_Muska [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:17 pm ]
Post subject: 

Dragonathan wrote:
XenoKiLLer wrote:
The k2network is an mmo company....


not mmo only, they provide a network for WARROCK


Well WARROCK has been classified by some as a MMOFPS, look at the facts....

1. You have to be online to play.
2. There are no LAN capabilities.
3. You rent all your new weapons from an online store ingame.

In some ways it is a MMO, and some ways it's not.... depends on what your classification of MMO is.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

yes. We were talking about using funds to run an FTP service for all TCE players, what does Warrock have to do with this? We know that Warrock auto updates, if you are trying to prove that shooters can do that America's Army has its own ingame download system now. The problem is we dont have that kind of server plus we cannot afford to keep something like that running. You are talking about 1000s of terabytes of bandwith per month.

Author:  it [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:11 pm ]
Post subject: 

and the times where someone says
"I've got half an hour to kill, I"ll play a quick match of TC:E"
*updating please wait*
f***!

:P

and manual patches also weed out the unworthy. kinda like "you must be this tall to ride this" only, in terms of computer usage.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:16 pm ]
Post subject: 

Also, manual patching is better because that means you have more than one place to get your patch to get back in game as fast as possible. When an FPT autodownloaded servers crashes or loses bandwith, guess what happens? Just like all MMOs, when the downloaded service is offline or in maintenance boom nobody can play.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:45 pm ]
Post subject: 

but the advantage of an automatic updater is that evryone can download it at the same time,

but i think the solution is just a simple popup like what most programs have,

evrytime if theres a new update available you should see a popup on your desktop evrytime you open tcetest, the pop will warn you to download the update before you're able to play again, there should a be a [YES] [NO] button, if you click yes it will redirect you to the website where you can download the new update,

way mroe cheaper than FTP, also more effective less errors.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

Most PC users would hate unimportant items from running in the back ground. A popup on the desktop would require a separate application to always be running and using the internet and nobody likes that (with your exception). TCE and WET already has that ingame, when you run the game with an outdated version the game will tell you immediately. WET has a update annoucer built in but you will only see it if you attempt to run WET without the 2.60 patch and join a server that has been updated.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
Most PC users would hate unimportant .


you sound like you did a research or something,

you know that program CCleaner? well they use the same thing, if pc users hated it than than why is CCleaner so pupular?

and there are like millions of people using CCleaner, all my friends use it

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:58 pm ]
Post subject: 

Do you know CCleaner DOES NOT run 24/7 in the background system tray. CCleaner's update popup only shows when it is opened not as soon as an update is released. The one you were suggesting is that TCE should show a popup on DESKTOP which means that you must use a thirdparty app that runs in the backgrounds and hogs memory for two years waiting for TT to make a patch.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

you dont know what your saying and i dont think you ever tried CCleaner case what your saying is really falls, CCleaner shows a popup evrytime theres a new update available, this is the same thing like you gave critics about playstation, you probably never even used it,

i can name tons of popular program that has this popup features,

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

It is you has never used it because I have CCleaner on all my computers. The popup will only show if you open the program, the CCleaner update notification DOES not popup when the program IS NOT OPEN. The PS, I have used it, I have used every single freaking console since the days in NES all the way till the XBOXes.

This thread is sliding btw, it is about releasing large patches not small files, the thread isnt about adding another RAM sucking third party application jsut to tell those who live under rocks that TT has released an update the rest of the normal world has been talking about in BOLD letters all year round.

Author:  Dragonathan [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:12 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
It is you has never used it because I have CCleaner on all my computers. The popup will only show if you open the program, the CCleaner update notification DOES not popup when the program IS NOT OPEN. The PS, I have used it, I have used every single freaking console since the days in NES all the way till the XBOXes.


what? lmao your stubborn but it is funny,
well i open my CCleaner evryday, how come i dont see any popup? accept if theres an update available.

oh an can you read me the text on the popup...
i think you have done something in your settings or something.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

Here have a look for yourself.

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/XenoSilence/desktop.png

That popup only shows if CCLeaner is opened from it's startmenu shortcut or via the shortcut in recycle bin. It will not popup on it's own by default settings if CCleaner is not running.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

BTW, as I said, off topic, resume discussion on bigger patches.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

If you havent heard not everyone who play's TCE has a 3MBps cable connection or a T1 like I do. Most of them are complaining about how freakishly huge this patch is all for a new menu and brighter maps. Simply, large files are not what the people want because it is contradicting to what you said as userfriendly because 100mb isnt user friendly. What these patches need is a proper installer with correct instructions not a freakishly huge size.
_________________

Page 2 of 4 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/