All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Didn't do a lot this week, it was warm and spent time at the pool.

Since TC never had stuff like dynamic map elements, we shouldn't use those
in this part, but shift them to version 1.5 / 2. Taken the amount of maps available of
all TC versions before 0.49, do we really have to go into dynamic map elements ?
Shouldn't those be enough to dedicate a complete game to ? Foremost this game
should be dedicated to 'the lost' TC maps.

Let's just shift from part 1 up, we could add additional options in updates anyway.
We'd rather do it on request of players, weighted against the formula of this particular
game. That is talking about gameplay options. Graphic wise it's a world of difference already:
original textures to 3d material, atmospheric effects, geometry details, detailed nature,
sides of maps more populated. Then there's this little detail called shadow, that
pretty much can give you up when hiding behind a corner... It's a feature that we can
remove, but I'd rather keep it.

--- Q & A ---
Gimp : It's not an easy program compared to Photoshop, but it beats Photoshop in
making seamless textures PLUS it's a free program.

Daz4 studio : Also free, I googled it and it's supposed to work on Linux (dunt ask how)
Using their models in games requires a license btw.

Described hostage situations : That's mostly called CSAR (search and rescue).
aka better for a part 2.

Quote:
uhhh... did I miss something? Don't you mean UE3?

Nope, I figured that at the end of development, we'd look into the Linux port.
At that time, the UE4 engine would be available and would have better support
for OpenGL in contrary to UE3.

Why a Linux port of this engine doesn't reach the Linux platform ?
Maybe because the company/team that will do that first, will be the
game and code used by others to port their game ? The others would
profit from the work of the first... Still I'd like to see the terms
for an official licensee to see if we're legally restricted to do so,
will get to that soon.

Borderlands : principle of many users VS capacity of the power of the server
of an average user ;-) Large worlds, not such a prob with a bit of enguinity,
but keeping up with 100s of players requires an above average server.
Meaning that for this kind of games, the creators have to maintain
powerful, costly servers.

**--Dev Update--**
I found out a new way to convert geometry and it works better than the 5-6 step approuch (duh).
Saves a lot of time, but is a bit sloppy as it ups the vertex count, but still well below the
max count for import. What this method ensures is that a 1-1 conversion can be done well within
5-7 days by one single person. Friday evening I started to convert the 'Goldmann systems' and
the only things left are the Specops spawn and the 'gardens' behind the long row of houses
(one with poolhouse), the tunnel also needs some TLC and terrain (grass) needs to be done. I
hope I'll finish all of that over the next 24 hrs, so I can start putting textures in.


Screenshots will follow later boys N girls.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:55 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:48 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Brazil
You intend to become this game (whole game) available on Steam? It seems a good way to reach many potential buyers ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:01 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 459
As far as I know, it's a free game made on a "by gamers for gamers" principle.


Some specific (sizes, conventions) guidelines for mappers would be nice.

Also, is next gen support planned? Mainly tesselation, either DX11 or OpenGL?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:05 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Yes, we do intend to put it on Steam when we reach Beta testing,
but it's still going to be a free game ;-) Version 2 won't be free,
but I dont know if we'll put it on Steam because they take about
30-40% of sales. There are enough distributors out there, so first
browsing for the best deal before we commit.

Some quick measurements :
Height of character 180cm-182cm max
90 game units

Door to hallcloset aka door to mailbox
68*201cm - 34 * 100 game units

Standard inside door
78*201cm - 39 * 100 game units

Front door
92 * 212cm - 46 * 106 game units

From floor - ceiling 232cm = 116 units

You could also check the measurements when you press 'play from here'
in UDK. The character we use is just about as big as the 1stplayer
view, so everything that looks too small or too big from that
perspective needs to be adjusted.

Tesselation is something we're using BUT :::
- Part 1.0 should be for systems that are 'older', everything
before DirectX11.

- In version 1.0 it may not be used to generate things that a
player could use to hide behind (bricks at corners of houses).

- Maps who have tesselated things to hide behind will be put
in either V1.5 or v2.0 (strangely V2 will be launched well before
v1.5)

Dev Update ::::
All buildings on the map converted, only need to get some things
imported seperately (stairs, windows etc).

When I finish texturing later this week, I'll also make a vid explaining
some of the techniques I'm using for optimizing the map. Most come
from using GTK and that's a world of difference compared to UDK...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:03 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Some screenshots, putting everything on the map with textures.
As you can see, windows and doors are still to come on that side.
God, Alt-prntscrn gives awful screenshots (or compression killed it).
More tweaking on the sun, mainly it's position, color and fog distance-
density will require some patience.

Image

Both screenshots have been made at in-game time of 5-7-ish
Image

More screenshots will follow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:17 am 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:01 pm
Posts: 459
Try taking screenshots with UDK's built in function. PrtScr seems to override engine settings like brightness, gamma, contrast, etc. sometimes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:10 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 12:18 pm
Posts: 116
Ohhh, that looks exciting!

So you're planning on going over to UE4 when the time comes? Should be a very smooth transition, once you get stuff done in UE3. And yeah, I also heard that Epic is kinda interested in the Linux market too, however that was before Cliffy B. left the studio, so I just ended up being skeptical.

Well, I must say, so far this looks promising. Congrats! (I mean hey, that's already a big enough achievement here.)

Meanwhile, I came up with some more ideas, but I think it's for the better to keep them until the game hits alpha stage or something, because, heh, most of 'em sound kinda ridiculous even to me, but hey, that means you'll have plenty of options to browse through. Afterall, it's hard to do stuff without having ideas. (Do I come off as a dick here?)

Anyways, can't wait...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:25 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:11 pm
Posts: 269
I can't say if it looks promising because I am desperate for a new game or it actually is promising... Must... Remain... Skeptical...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:24 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Quote:
... Must... Remain... Skeptical...

LOLOLOL

Thanks guys, but we have a long way to go before I'd say Nom Noms.
Lightmapping and UV's is one thing(errr or two) and still need
some work on the character + animation. Not to forget that the
menu still needs to be finished, although it's almost done.

Figured out one of the probs of screenshots : don't upload in jpg format ;-p
Hadn't set any brightness or any post processing etc. Current screenshots
haven't been done with the UDK line command, since I managed to screw
something up when the terrain was added,so need to fix that before I
can even use the command to take a screenshot... Sadly the terrain doesn't
show up in the editor (wtf) so I can't even remove it from the scene. Might
be a good time to update to the latest version?

In the weekend I accidently wrote over the package that held the stuff
for the Goldmann systems map, so I redid the whole map including materials....

*waves flag*

As you can see from the screenshots, the spawn of the specops isn't
done 100% and I haven't heard of texture aligning AT ALL. Things to do
that will make things look much prettier : lightmap UVs, specular maps and
some lights here and there...

These streets will see battle again, soon.
Image

Pre-tree
Image

At the back, fiddling around with the greenery
Image

Fom the attic it shows that the side of the map could use some TLC
Image

Invader, as for ridiculous ideas... Nothing is too ridiculous to consider...
Some things might not fit the formula for part 1, but might fit perfectly
in a sequel. Anything that would require extensive AI for example...

'nuff mapping, tomorrow it's time to put some luvin' on the sleeves and
gloves for 1st person view.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:55 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Took a little vacation, needed one so I did little on the game
past 2 weeks. I'm 'pauzing' work on 2 other games as they
both need some specialized modelling for the game assets
before we can proceed.

I also took a look at the code for my App again,
Made some adjustments in the visualisation of incoming
messages. Tango Down is a free game so I still have to
get income from other things. I've been sitting on that
app for a very long time and it's time I launch it after
some final touches.

What I will be concentrating on, from now on are solely
Tango Down part 1 and my app. I'm not going to worry
too much about part 2, when 1 is done it isn't that
much of a leap towards launching part 2. Letting
things run their natural course.

I did finish a temporary hud during my break.
Although too much of a reference to my gamer tag, the
laurel wreath does look alright and not really out of
place. It's part of the stamina-damage Hud.

Image

yes, had little time, I reused a screenshot for the background.
Where's the minimap ? There ain't going to be one...

Tomorrow I'm starting the game menus and in the meanwhile
gettng some things ready for the 1st person view (gloves need work).

More later.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:30 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 12:18 pm
Posts: 116
Caesar77 wrote:
Where's the minimap ? There ain't going to be one...


Is there going to be some replacement? Something that shows where is bombsite A and B on the maps. Like dynamic hud indicators? Gotta be careful with those, so that they don't obscure the players vision much. Then again, they can't be unnoticeable. I remember looking a lot for the objectives location in the MW2 campaign. As far as I remember it was the first CoD where the indicator wasn't on the compass anymore.

Or are you going to place hints on the maps like CS does?

I agree, that a radar/minimap is unnecessary though. I never used it. I always listened to gun sounds/foot steps very closely instead of just checking the enemy's location on the minimap when they shot. It was only useful for knowing where the bomb is placed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
No, also no replacement, sorry.
Colors are easier to remember than A or B. It has to do
with how memory links data easiest ;-) If I'd show you
a screenshot of the blue crate on Northport for 5-10 seconds
and I'd ask you 2 weeks later, the chance you will know
where the blue crate is is far greater than using A or B.

Let's say that if there are players who have played the
game for at least 3 weeks and still will have trouble
finding the crates then I'll reconsider.

Only indicators on screen for now will be hit indicators
so you can see where the bullets are coming from.


Dev update :
Still busy modelling and UVing the sleeves and gloves,
trying with other programs now besides Blender and glad
I did. Made a lot of adjustments to the original mesh,
even the wrinkles come out nicely now. The gloves have
been done from scratch but aren't done yet. Do have a
pair of simpe gloves, but progressed to making them
a 'bit' more detailed.

Tomorrow we're back to checking guns with the team.
Having this much guns to chose from doesnt make things
easier. For now there's an AK47,M4,Mp5, Glock, Desert Eagle,
Spas 12, Barrett M something something and another sniper
rifle I forgot the name of. Once a week we go over the guns
and check the sounds and impact decals to see if we're still
okay with the combinations.

Preliminary menu is about done, still need to do the
gun attachment part tho. Also did some quick menus for
the other games, so we'll have something to work with.

There's a lot of empty space on this map on basically all
sides of the map. Needless to say that if you 'run' out of the
terrorist spawn and look to the right, there was nothing.
Now both terrorists and specops have new neighbors ;-)
Must say, now there's a bit more on the background, it looks
sooo much more complete. Even though it's not finished yet,
the map is getting increasingly enjoyable to work on.
A test where I copied the whole map and pasted it 5 times
even came out right, without the performance being affected
in a bad way.

Dev update app :
It's getting along nicely, code wise I'm a raging bull,
just about everything is programmed. It's just the little
things like tweaking CSS and tie a few lose ends here and
there and I´m done. Might do a post explaining the app and
how we, the TC community, can benefit from this.

Or in short I made a social media app and forking it before
launch so the second one will get a GAMER ONLY purpose.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 9:27 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 12:42 pm
Posts: 138
Had a lots of fun today running around on the map and shooting at everything in sight.
Hate to say it... I'm missing a bot... <Did I just really say that ?>

Yesterday I spent some time to tweak the walk and jump cycle. Just need to put other sounds
for footsteps and 'landing' after jumping and we'll be on our merry way. Running cycle still
needs a transition from running to walking or full stop and vice versa, still looks a bit odd
now. UDK has some real nice animation features, liking it now I'm starting to get the hang of
all all those different blending possibilities.

Need to change the dimensions again, it's slightly off from TC.

This week I'm hooking up the character from previous screenies to the biped movement
library in unreal. Need to have something to shoot at Asap. This way it might be
faster than converting each seperate individual movement from the Daz3D Genesis character
to Biped skeleton. Im using Ikinema to convert animation from one skeleton to another,
but only if it just could transfer one skeleton to another in one click....
In UDK this is an easy task and only has to be done once, thank god. Biped also has
another advantage over the Genesis skeleton.... you can find a lot of mocap files for it.

Spending some time on making a real low poly version of the row of houses across spawns,
can get it times as smaller than the original, so it also will be good if we reuse it
somewhere in the background. Def. need to do a map next that already has populated map
filling at the sides.... I like to spent some more decent time on the Goldmann systems map,
because expanding it with filling does require some time to get things right.

Another thingy I've been busy with is preparing to register a new company to handle
the sales of software and games. There are things in business I don't want to have
to handle or worry about, so need to fill that in before starting.


Alpha testers : The only people I'm letting in as Alpha testers are the people
who are registered on this forum ;-) We will put a testing version out, but I
want to release it with with a minimum of bugs and needed tweaks. So if we
release the Alpha it will be a full working version with no limits and will mainly
be to discover bugs or errors we didn't came across when testing it ourselves.
One aspect that's very important to have completely finished before the Alpha
are the characters movements, if those are satisfactory and the map isn't
done 100% yet, I still will release the Alpha.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:28 am 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:48 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Brazil
Can not wait to be able to test the game. I'll keep watching this thread closely. Incidentally, log into the forum was like giving birth to a moose, I received several times the message internal server error 500. What does that mean?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2013 TC:E NextGen edition !!!
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:58 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:22 pm
Posts: 57
Quote:
Incidentally, log into the forum was like giving birth to a moose, I received several times the message internal server error 500. What does that mean?


The server is a little f*cked up. From what I understand Diane cannot fix that because of personal issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 15  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group