TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

TC:E on XREAL, screenshots inside!
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2225
Page 1 of 3

Author:  Rang3r1_v2 [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:01 am ]
Post subject:  TC:E on XREAL, screenshots inside!

So I got it running on Xreal thanks to sxy, here are some screens. I'm working on figuring out why only the shotguns and the knife work. Here are some limitations I have found.

1. No skybox
2. Only shotguns and the knife show up in the viewport
3. There are lots and lots of shader errors, not sure why
4. You cannot bring up iron sights

My next job is getting a normal mapped shotgun ingame.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Author:  sxy [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:15 am ]
Post subject: 

I can bring up the ironsights, and all the weapons show up. Please use the binaries from the snapshot (http://xreal-project.net/wp-content/tmp ... 0101013.7z)
Should work. I also have some other problems with the engine, but interestingly the etmain works like a charm (apart app hangs that are connected to poor ati legacy win7 drivers for my x1950)

Author:  Piney [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:50 am ]
Post subject: 

That's some fine coding work, sxy [and ranger]!

I know it's probably listed in a nice educative text on xreal's website, but what should TC:E on Xreal mean for the common end-user, if possible in a sweet bullet-point form?

Author:  sxy [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

That's no coding at all. Simply put together ET-Xreal binaries and TCE binaries (and assets).

Author:  sxy [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

Btw.. etmain skyboxes aren't fully supported yet. But you can edit the original skyshader so that it will look something like this:
Code:
textures/skies/cirrus1
{
    qer_editorimage    env/sxy/cirrus1_up.jpg
    noFragment
    noshadows
    nooverlays
    noimpact
    forceOpaque
    nolightmap

    surfaceparm sky

      xmap_globaltexture
      xmap_lightsubdivide 256
    xmap_lightrgb 0.86 0.94 1.0

    xmap_sunExt 1.0 0.95 0.71 5000 9 40 2 32

    xmap_lightmapFilterRadius 0 8 
    xmap_skylight 3000 18





    {
        stage skyboxMap
        noPicMip

        cubeMap      env/sxy/cirrus1
    }

}

Author:  sxy [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:16 pm ]
Post subject: 

ps: also, don't forget that in ET-Xreal all 6 images that form skybox have to be of equal pixel-size.

Author:  Piney [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

sxy wrote:
That's no coding at all. Simply put together ET-Xreal binaries and TCE binaries (and assets).


Yes, but then my already-stretched simpsons' reference would have been absolutely ruined.

Author:  sxy [ Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

Oh.. what it should mean for a regular Private First Class? Well..
Dynamic shadows
Dynamic lighting
True HDR
True normal mapping
True specular mapping
Parallax mapping
All sorts of pixel shaders and post process eye-candy (realistic water, refractive glass)
More efficient visibility calculation (like DynamicBspOclussionCulling)
...
...
...

But of course without mr. Coroners will, the game won't have any real chances to survive another 5 years..

Author:  Rang3r1_v2 [ Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

I copied the files from the most recent snapshot, the ones inside the etmain folder, and weapons still dont work, and neither do ironsights. Do I have to do more yet?

Author:  Damien [ Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

A clean W:ET + TC:E install?

Author:  sxy [ Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:34 am ]
Post subject: 

Damiens idea is probably the best. Also, double check if you still run "old" ET-Xreal binaries from that pack in my how-to. (if you run the game with a shortcut for example) because et-xreal.exe in the snapshot has slightly different filename.
Btw.. which GFX card do you posses?

Author:  Rang3r1_v2 [ Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:57 pm ]
Post subject: 

I have two Nvidia 9800 g mobile cards in my laptop.

Looks like I was using the same shortcut, lol, works now.

Now to figure out how to apply normal maps, I am beyond excited now.

Author:  sxy [ Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:01 pm ]
Post subject: 

I did the same mistake :P

normal maps: just use that reference shader that I've sent you by PM.

Author:  Rang3r1_v2 [ Wed Oct 20, 2010 4:27 pm ]
Post subject: 

Problem is it has been a year or so since I have last even looked at a shader file, I think I might just compile the weapon, pack it up, send it to you, you can get it working, and once i see how you did it, I would be good....

Author:  sxy [ Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

okay

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/