All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ET 2.60b patch
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:07 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
Soo... isntalled ET and the 2.60 patch.
Tried the game, works like a charm.

After that downloaded the 2.60b patch and the game went nuts.
The game freezes every 2 or 3 seconds, all the time, even in the intro and the menus.

Do I need this one or is there a solution?
I run under XP Pro, and the 2.60b patch was only the ET.exe and ETDED files. I replaced the originals.

Thanks!

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:21 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 266
Location: Louisiana, USA
Weird. I never had a problem. Is the servers you're connecting to also 2.60b? Or can someone confirm if that is not an issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:27 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
How I know the version of my ET/the servers?

I kinda solved the problem.

Installed ET, and the the "easy installer of 2.60b" from somewhere Planet Wolfenstein. I think it might be this sites ET 2.60b files, taht are corrupted or something.

I'm sill not sure what version I run right now...
:?

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:50 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
...and one thing.

Just checked it out, the files are ok.

IT IS THE *i-need-a-broader-vocab* PB!

All works like a charm, but when I enable PB it gets the game *i-need-a-broader-vocab* up.

Can someone give me hint how to fix this freezing PB shit?

Thanks!

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:05 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
I actually have hte same problem as you. I have had it for awhile but I never thought too much of it. I still have no idea how to fix :(.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:04 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
Well, it sure isn't the PB version, it does this same shit with all versions I have tried.

God!
:shock:

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:18 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:17 pm
Posts: 66
it's not a matter of PB version it's PB itself that cause lag spikes :D

If u have dual-multi proc u should try PriFinitty2, u can set affinity & priority for ET & PBa-b. I put ET on one proc realtime & PB "services" :D on the other in high-priority.

It doesn't kill lag, i have µlags a lot for about 2 min when i join a server.

If u really want to play without PB lags install linux 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:41 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
Its not about lagging ingame, its about the whole ET process gets stuck for just a short amount of time on startup (usually at the menu). Nothing ingame, atleast for me.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:10 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
FloP wrote:
it's not a matter of PB version it's PB itself that cause lag spikes :D

If u have dual-multi proc u should try PriFinitty2, u can set affinity & priority for ET & PBa-b. I put ET on one proc realtime & PB "services" :D on the other in high-priority.

It doesn't kill lag, i have µlags a lot for about 2 min when i join a server.

If u really want to play without PB lags install linux 8)


I use task assigner for my cores. TCE on the other one, PB on the other.
Also I get lags ingame also. It is nonstop.

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:32 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:13 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Slovenia
How lag spikes look like ? i mean it also lag if blue and green line aren't all time same or just red spikes ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:26 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
It has nothing to do with lagometer, the game just stops for an second every two or three seconds. All the time.
:?

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:55 pm 
Offline
Master
Master

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:13 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Slovenia
gonzo|Uncle Bionic wrote:
It has nothing to do with lagometer, the game just stops for an second every two or three seconds. All the time.
:?

Never had this problem and i have Quad on Win 7 64bit u have ati gfx ? i have some drivers problem with ati nvidia have better driver (never had any problem with)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:33 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
Could some program or something like an anti-virus, be interfering with the game in any way?
Giving us your specs Bionic, it might help :/.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 4:20 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 565
Location: Under the hood.
I'll try it later today disabling all that I can.
Maybe even reinstalling again.

My specs:
XP Pro
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
nVidia GTS250 512mb version (latest drivers)
2gb RAM
latest version of PB right now.

Any help is appreciated.
:?

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Canada
I did a quick search and came up with these.
For your gfx card:
1) Turn off Transparency Anti-aliasing and ambient occlusion
2) Disable PhysX drivers
3) Make sure its in high performance mode

Since you say that the lagometer doesn't show any 'lag' effects then it makes me think its something that is slowing down your computer or the the program itself. Make sure you have good airflow and that the temp of hte gfx card is at a good #.

Try disabling most high performance settings in the Nvidia control panel (like AA and etc.).

It seems like the GTS250 has not problems with openGL or any older games (atleast from my searches). It might be XP but that's a wild guess.

_________________
Image
"Statistics is the study of how Greek letters can over-complicate graphs."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group