TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

Aspect ratio issue?
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=1980
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Riot777 [ Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Aspect ratio issue?

Hello I'm having an issue with True Combat Elite, maybe somebody could help me with this, my problem is, look at the picture:

Image

Black bars/letterbox, I'm playing at 1280x1024 which is the native resolution of my LCD monitor. Enemy Territory itself doesn't got this issue so I thought there might be some workaround for this. In settings I got set resolution to: 1280x1024 standard screen 5:4 and aspect ratio set to: 4:3. What can I do to fix this? I tried fiddling with other settings including, field of view, r_customaspect, r_customwidth and r_customheight but nothing has fixed that issue. I will be gratefull for any tips.

Author:  luka [ Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

In system options u have acpect ratio settings

Author:  $omator [ Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

http://ur-gaming.com/portal/news.php?extend.9

when typying your commands begin it with /seta to write it into cfg

Author:  Riot777 [ Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

I already said that I've been using aspect ratio options in settings menu. For the commands I have those set like this:

Code:
seta r_customwidth 1280
seta r_customheight 1024
seta r_customaspect 0
seta r_mode -1


Should be correct but it don't have any effect for the TCE, any other ideas?

Author:  $omator [ Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:01 pm ]
Post subject: 

no other way. the command responsible for aspect ratio is r_customaspect and its variabloes could be 0 1 2 =) gl

Author:  luka [ Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

try that ( i hope sombody will help u who know more about that :) )
seta r_mode "-1"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_customwidth "1280"
seta r_customheight "1024"
seta r_customaspect "1"
seta g_fov "110"

Author:  $omator [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:27 pm ]
Post subject: 

Type these settings into your console (the ” ~ ” key) while the game is started:

/seta r_aspectratio 1
/seta r_customaspect 1
/seta r_mode -1
/seta r_customwidth 1920
/seta r_customheight 1080

And if you want to run it in fullscreen:
/seta r_fullscreen 1
or not
/seta r_fullscreen 0

Of course if your screen resolution is different from this (1920×1080), just use the one your screen supports.

However, if you are using an autoexec.cfg, you can copy and paste these ET widescreen settings into it, so the resolution will change automatically when you starte ET next time, or if you load your autoexec in the game.

Or, go to your game install folder and locate this file:
C:/Program Files/Enemy Territory/tcetest/yourprofile/etconfig.cfg
…then copy paste these lines above, without the “/” sign.

NO OTHER WAY

Author:  Alpha Red [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

I thought TC:E only supports 4:3, 16:9 and 16:10 aspect ratios. Not 5:4.

Author:  $omator [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

alpha is right there is no 5:4 at ET.

Quote:
r_customAspectRatioV "x"
r_customAspectRatioH "x"

were introduced at idtech folowing one used in ET

Author:  Riot777 [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:43 pm ]
Post subject: 

$0m@7or wrote:
alpha is right there is no 5:4 at ET.

Quote:
r_customAspectRatioV "x"
r_customAspectRatioH "x"

were introduced at idtech folowing one used in ET


There are not such commands in ET nor TCE. I tried all your commands, I'm playing game in fullscreen, but unfortunately they didn't help. How come normal Enemy Territory is using correct aspect ratio in 1280x1024 (getting me full area of screen) and TCE does not, did developers made some changes within this settings which brake compatibility for 5:4 users?

Author:  $omator [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

Riot777 wrote:
$0m@7or wrote:
alpha is right there is no 5:4 at ET.

Quote:
r_customAspectRatioV "x"
r_customAspectRatioH "x"

were introduced at idtech folowing one used in ET


There are not such commands in ET nor TCE. I tried all your commands, I'm playing game in fullscreen, but unfortunately they didn't help. How come normal Enemy Territory is using correct aspect ratio in 1280x1024 (getting me full area of screen) and TCE does not, did developers made some changes within this settings which brake compatibility for 5:4 users?


options=>system under aspect ratio youve got field of view tab. you can change it, probably fixing your issue witchout need to vid_restart so wysiwyg =) there is also console command for it but forgot it.
connect to any server go options/system,field of view and pick best one
i hope that will help you zią

Author:  Alpha Red [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

Riot777 wrote:
$0m@7or wrote:
alpha is right there is no 5:4 at ET.

Quote:
r_customAspectRatioV "x"
r_customAspectRatioH "x"

were introduced at idtech folowing one used in ET


There are not such commands in ET nor TCE. I tried all your commands, I'm playing game in fullscreen, but unfortunately they didn't help. How come normal Enemy Territory is using correct aspect ratio in 1280x1024 (getting me full area of screen) and TCE does not, did developers made some changes within this settings which brake compatibility for 5:4 users?

Basically, yes. You just cannot do 5:4 because its not supported.

Author:  SnaKeS3K [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:54 pm ]
Post subject: 

sad but true u cant do anything about it, field of view wont change anything for u. but tbh i wouldnt mind the black bars, its not that they're totally disturbing(barely there at all).
ur only option is changing the resolution... :/

ps: funny how many posts are needed to state the obvious, i guess spamming is what tce is all about :D

Author:  Vengeance [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

its what we are all good at snake

Author:  Diane [ Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:18 pm ]
Post subject: 

It's Snakes fault. He should have posted earlier :D

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/