TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

Problem with TC:E
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=1799
Page 1 of 2

Author:  *Valkiry* [ Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:46 am ]
Post subject:  Problem with TC:E

Hi, first of all i new to this game and forum so....
So i followed the Installation Guild and downloaded all the things you need to be do... than i start TC:E, and than i connect to a server, but first wierd thing is that it needs to download a lot's of files?? why? i already got anything not? than after the downloads the map loads but than suddenly stops and disconnect... errormessage : "the server dissconnected for no reason" or other errormessage : "somthing with my GUI or something..."
And how do i put a shortcut to TC:E because now i always open WET and than click on mods....
Please help...
Thanks.
Greetz

Author:  merlin1991 [ Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

okay some answers:

Quote:
and than i connect to a server, but first wierd thing is that it needs to download a lot's of files?? why?

that's because the server has custom made maps on it that are not included in the tc:e install files

Quote:
"somthing with my GUI or something..."

we need the exact error message here, because it can either be the new pb bug (PB guid unknown auth) or empty cd-key bla

Code:
And how do i put a shortcut to TC:E because now i always open WET and than click on mods....

copy your et shortcut, go to it's properties and add "+set fs_game tcetest" (without the quotes) in the target line

you might also want to add "+set com_hunkMegs 192 +set com_zoneMegs 64 +set com_soundMegs 32" (again without the quotes), because that fixes some errors and improves performance (that are some settings about how much ram et/tc:e is allowed to use for stuff)

Author:  Mr_Tiny [ Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:31 pm ]
Post subject: 

hi merlin
i just got the - PB GUID Authentication Unkown error when connecting to a server :/ and its doing it on all servers when 2 hours ago i was playing fine.

Ive updated my pb twice and restarted my computer, (which is a mac by the way) And still no success :(

Please help!

thanks, Tiny

Author:  merlin1991 [ Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

Mr_Tiny wrote:
hi merlin
i just got the - PB GUID Authentication Unkown error when connecting to a server :/


I sadly don't know no solution for the PB GUID Authentication Unkown error :(

it helped me to get a new etkey and in case it still showed up a reconnect fixed it

Author:  *Valkiry* [ Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:14 am ]
Post subject: 

ok thanks for the fast response...
Are there servers where you need to download nothing (they only use basemaps) ?
And the shortcut: I do shortcut than wat? i "+set fs_game tcetest" set where?
The Errormessage : Something with GUID PB, how to update PunkBuster?

Thanks

Author:  naabz [ Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:41 am ]
Post subject: 

*Valkiry* wrote:
ok thanks for the fast response...
Are there servers where you need to download nothing (they only use basemaps) ?
And the shortcut: I do shortcut than wat? i "+set fs_game tcetest" set where?
The Errormessage : Something with GUID PB, how to update PunkBuster?

Thanks


How to update PB:

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

Author:  thrillkillcult [ Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:14 pm ]
Post subject:  re:problems

Finally someone else with problems. Ive had problems with this game form day one, but i love it. Now i dont have any problems. my prob was old video card issues, resolved that prob then began playing, thats when i got in to the issue of having to download all this other shit in order to play on diff servers.
I just let it run its course, id connect to a server and 20 min later all the paks were downloaded and i could play. I didnt listen to the install advice of otyhers who said to turn off autodownload. i downloaded everything i could so i can play on any server. except for those that have outdated files.

I hope my advice helps some.

Author:  *Valkiry* [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:31 am ]
Post subject: 

ok, i updated my PB, t really helps, because it was the first time yesterday that i actually saw the game... after loading the map i see the map (spectating) but than suddenly i return back to Main Menu errormessage :
"Server Disconnected-PunkBuster kicked player "Valkiry"(for 0 minutes)...
Cvar rate = 4000"
Wat is this??? pfff, i am getting tyred trying different stuff guys, can nobody help me?
greetz

Author:  LayerS [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:54 am ]
Post subject: 

do /rate 15000 or /rate 20000
also cl_maxpackets from eh 60 to 100, w/e you want between those two.

snaps best on 40

Author:  gonzo|Uncle Bionic [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:38 am ]
Post subject: 

snaps 20
rate 25000
maxpackets 100
:wink:

Author:  *Valkiry* [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:09 pm ]
Post subject: 

uhmmm....??? :shock: wat the hell is that? fraps and stuff.... :shock:
i don't know where to do it or wat it is.... :?
Can somenone explane wat they are trying to say?

Author:  WingZero [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hey Valk,

For the moment, just update your punkbuster with this:

http://websec.evenbalance.com/downloade ... php?file=1

If you need instructions on how to update a games PB, goto http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php

Once you update tcetest, lets say you want to connect to this server ip 8.9.9.53:27960

Before you do that, open up console (by pressing this button on your keyboard ~) Once it is opened type the following commands word for word:

/cl_allowdownload 1
/cl_maxpackets 60
/snaps 40
/rate 25000
/cl_wingzeropro

After you type those commands in console, don't close it yet and type /connect 8.9.9.53:27960

If you get in, you should be able to play anywhere.

Let the game download the files! it shouldn't take too long unless your on Dial-up type of internet.

Regards,
WingZero

Author:  thrillkillcult [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:22 pm ]
Post subject:  re problems

Thanks wingzero
works great
i think it would have worked any way, but i always like chekching shit out.
thanks

Author:  merlin1991 [ Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

*Valkiry* wrote:
uhmmm....??? :shock: wat the hell is that? fraps and stuff.... :shock:


those things (rate, snaps, cl_maxpakets) are settings for et

since et was created some time the default settins for networking are set with dial up connections in mind (54k modems, ...) todays servers kick you for such settings since you can get an artificial lag if you use the in some way.

if you get kicked by punkbuster for cvar SOMENAME = SOMEVALUE that means that you have to change some settings to be able to play on that server.

btw depending on the os and the keyboard layout you can either open the console with the "~" or the "^" key

to change a settings (called cvar) simply type /CVARNAME VALUE in the console

hope that helps :wink:

Author:  *Valkiry* [ Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:24 am ]
Post subject: 

finally.... :) :o :wink: 2 guys who explane it correct to me :P
Thanks guys for you're help! 8)
I hope the things you said help, i will try it out. :wink:

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/