TrueCombat
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/

Deleted TCETest folder, can't reinstall.
http://www.truecombatelite.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=995
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Meez [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Deleted TCETest folder, can't reinstall.

A window appears with the message

Code:
"The True-Combat Elite component is already installed. Please uninstall it before hand"


Any ideas?

Author:  gerbalblaste [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:15 pm ]
Post subject: 

download the truecombat .49 zip and extract that into the directory

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:26 pm ]
Post subject: 

make sure that WET and TCE are both fresh... The problems usual start when you uninstall the old version and some old files are messed around all over that directory.. the entire WET directory gets messed up so it is better to reinstall everything.

Author:  Apostata [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'm a little confused myself. I copied everything from the .49 folder into the existing tcetest folder. When I launch the game, it shows the new splash screen...but there are no buttons to press and no menus. I can only exit by pressing ESC.

As for the suggestion about doing a fresh ET/TCE install, I previously used the loki-installer for TCE - is it as simple as copying the new tcetest folder from the zip file into the ET/TCE root folder?

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

simply unpack the tcetest folder into the main ET directory.

Author:  Apostata [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:27 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
simply unpack the tcetest folder into the main ET directory.


I've just done that, and I get the same thing: new splash screen with no options. I deleted the old tcetest folder and inserted the new one, as per your direction.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:29 pm ]
Post subject: 

Well if you were looking for the big clunky options on the left side of the screen they should all be on the lower section of the screen now. Put up a link to a screenshot so I can better assess the situation.

Author:  Apostata [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:36 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
Well if you were looking for the big clunky options on the left side of the screen they should all be on the lower section of the screen now. Put up a link to a screenshot so I can better assess the situation.


Screenshot: http://ca.geocities.com/henrychinowski/tce_screen.jpg

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:47 pm ]
Post subject: 

All I could say is that you may have downloaded a zip package that is missing some files for the interface/menu itself.

Author:  nugjar [ Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:45 pm ]
Post subject: 

FYI, my working tcetest folder contains these ciritcal files and their checksums:

[~/.etwolf/tcetest]$ md5sum pak*.pk3 *.so *.dll

820e53e680969860a592302c3907eb84 pak0.pk3
2c65a8ea99c069fafbf0326470b8cc48 pak1.pk3
2f8732e37ed484f5a385a0ded8ecd0cc pak2.pk3
45092cbe29e43ff2f28e49c9d6bc4a5b pak3.pk3
aaf3531e7b8884db25fdd69c975ff813 cgame.mp.i386.so
f093c6f0f242d78dfc23d9450ec85336 qagame.mp.i386.so
604572063862eb35f5b84745c75fe4f2 ui.mp.i386.so
da28966156bbb7f1ba0982edcc91b2fa cgame_mp_x86.dll
b0428199174bffdd7b74f57adb6be16f qagame_mp_x86.dll
81a0808a1cd4ab5ac9f1a9f038d39a9b ui_mp_x86.dll

What do you get running that command above? If you get a different number for any of those files, then your download was corrupted, your drive is dieing, etc..

If you have the same checksum numbers for those files then I would say it's a permissions issue then a .cfg issue. Are you using the stock etconfig.cfg that came with the install?

This is what a good copy of tcetest049.zip looks like:

[]$ unzip -v tcetest049.zip
Archive: tcetest049.zip
Length Method Size Ratio Date Time CRC-32 Name
-------- ------ ------- ----- ---- ---- ------ ----
0 Stored 0 0% 09-17-06 09:10 00000000 tcetest/
135 Defl:N 94 30% 09-27-06 16:33 6bd81301 tcetest/autoexec.cfg
1268446 Defl:X 575807 55% 09-13-06 22:20 965ad597 tcetest/cgame.mp.i386.so
574276 Defl:X 571197 1% 09-13-06 21:50 6fde9d44 tcetest/cgame_mac
1003520 Defl:X 394809 61% 09-13-06 21:03 0d2d1625 tcetest/cgame_mp_x86.dll
13776 Defl:X 4930 64% 09-11-06 11:49 38d358f0 tcetest/EULA_TrueCombat_Elite.txt
2009687 Defl:X 2002279 0% 09-13-06 21:55 beeddb37 tcetest/mp_bin.pk3
544 Defl:X 271 50% 09-17-06 16:12 8af9abf4 tcetest/official.dat
111633426 Defl:X 111605858 0% 09-17-06 08:45 d895d6c6 tcetest/pak0.pk3
248251424 Defl:X 248054108 0% 09-17-06 08:47 cc52eeb0 tcetest/pak1.pk3
59329282 Defl:X 58793617 1% 09-17-06 16:05 47172ae8 tcetest/pak2.pk3
49407653 Defl:X 48619550 2% 09-17-06 15:58 796bbe08 tcetest/pak3.pk3
1367281 Defl:X 625324 54% 09-13-06 22:26 74a16168 tcetest/qagame.mp.i386.so
995328 Defl:X 432977 57% 09-14-06 07:52 8510541d tcetest/qagame_mp_x86.dll
419690 Defl:X 179572 57% 09-13-06 22:28 5ca49d5f tcetest/ui.mp.i386.so
171334 Defl:X 169057 1% 09-13-06 21:50 2083bc71 tcetest/ui_mac
270336 Defl:X 118621 56% 09-13-06 19:02 9c69eea8 tcetest/ui_mp_x86.dll
1141 Defl:X 401 65% 09-11-06 21:08 90c1ae19 tcetest/qagame_mac.bundle/Contents/Info.plist
1315568 Defl:X 577169 56% 09-13-06 21:50 137ff0f5 tcetest/qagame_mac.bundle/Contents/MacOS/qagame_mac
37344 Defl:N 13206 65% 09-25-06 20:01 8d44fb63 tcetest/changelog.rtf
9990 Defl:N 3012 70% 09-27-06 16:32 5a55dbb4 tcetest/ReadMe.rtf
15086 Defl:N 4656 69% 09-18-06 18:59 17d78372 tcetest/tce_icon_pc.ico
-------- ------- --- -------
478095267 472746515 1% 22 files

Author:  nugjar [ Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

XenoKiLLer wrote:
All I could say is that you may have downloaded a zip package that is missing some files for the interface/menu itself.


pak2.pk3 looks like it holds the ui menu stuff.

Author:  Apostata [ Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:10 pm ]
Post subject: 

:shock: Starting to go into shock now...I blew away the enemy-territory folder, including the tcetest folder. I installed ET 2.60 from scratch. I installed from a new loki-installer for TCE .49 (rather than the zip file I previously downloaded). Technically this should all work. Well, it's the same thing - I get to new splash window and there are no menu items anywhere. It's exactly as it was before uninstalling/reinstalling everything and I can't figure out why the hell this is happening.

Following nugjar's suggestion, here are the checksums:

Quote:
tcetest$ md5sum pak*.pk3 *.so *.dll
820e53e680969860a592302c3907eb84 pak0.pk3
2c65a8ea99c069fafbf0326470b8cc48 pak1.pk3
2f8732e37ed484f5a385a0ded8ecd0cc pak2.pk3
45092cbe29e43ff2f28e49c9d6bc4a5b pak3.pk3
aaf3531e7b8884db25fdd69c975ff813 cgame.mp.i386.so
f093c6f0f242d78dfc23d9450ec85336 qagame.mp.i386.so
604572063862eb35f5b84745c75fe4f2 ui.mp.i386.so
md5sum: *.dll: No such file or directory


The checksums seem identical to what nugjar posted, with the exception that there are no *.dll files...but that could be the difference between the zip file and the loki-installer (the latter being made for Linux which - as far as I know - doesn't require *.dll files).

In other words, I still can't figure out why this is happening.

Thanks for the suggestions so far.

Author:  XenoKiLLer [ Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

To save everyone the trouble someone try to ask Cor if we can distribute the tce pak files induvidually incase that the problem really has something to do with the mirrors having corrupted pak files.

Author:  Cope57 [ Mon Oct 02, 2006 2:53 am ]
Post subject: 

Apostata wrote:
I'm a little confused myself. I copied everything from the .49 folder into the existing tcetest folder. When I launch the game, it shows the new splash screen...but there are no buttons to press and no menus. I can only exit by pressing ESC.

As for the suggestion about doing a fresh ET/TCE install, I previously used the loki-installer for TCE - is it as simple as copying the new tcetest folder from the zip file into the ET/TCE root folder?

Small issue I also had. For me to do a clean install, I did this to get a clean install of ET and TCE.
I went into the /home folder and deleted the hidden folder .etwolf folder. It has all your mods and profile information in there.
I then went to /usr/local/games/enemy-territory and uninstalled the content using the uninstall.sh.
Whatever was left really did not matter cause I deleted the enemy-terrory folder and deleted anything in my root and user tmp folder.
I also went to root /home/.Trash and emtied the trash.
I then emtied the user account trash and then i was clean.
I installed the ET game as usual as root, then I unzipped the tcetest049.zip into the enemy-territory folder.
I kept tcetest in its own folder inside of the enemy-territory folder just to keep it a bit more organized for me.

Now it loads just fine for me.
Hope this helps you.

Author:  Apostata [ Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

I solved it - just renamed the et/wolf user-folders in /home. Thanks to Cope57 for this tip.

This should be put into some sort of FAQ, as I can see others coming across this problem.

Cheers,

M

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/