All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linux Set up
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:09 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:18 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Michigan US
I just have a few quiestions about setting up a Linux server right.

1. Are all levels of weapons avliable in BC ? If so how do I set it up. We had them on the server before the 2.6 patch and now they are gone but for obj.

2. We seem to have a lag issuse that we can not find. We have a few people that complain about it. I was just woundering if there is a better setup in the server config.

3. We can not get punkbuster to work after the 2.6 patch anyway to get it back up? Or are they working the fix in to the next patch?



Back to top


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux Set up
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:20 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:29 pm
Posts: 17
Dark Wolf {DM} wrote:
I just have a few quiestions about setting up a Linux server right.
1. Are all levels of weapons avliable in BC ?



No only if you use a Custom gear pk3 file then you will have all weapons you can put then in any order you want to

Dark Wolf {DM} wrote:
2. We seem to have a lag issuse that we can not find. We have a few people that complain about it


Thats really something you can not do anything about to much but ask your server host to do a ping test and and to look into it if it al comes back fine im sure it will but most of the time lag is from the server being over ran things like that.

Dark Wolf {DM} wrote:
3. We can not get punkbuster to work after the 2.6 patch anyway to get it back up


PB_sv_enable look in your server.cfg and take the // off and it will work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:05 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:18 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Michigan US
Thanks Namco I will try these things and see what I get I will let you know how it gose...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:49 am 
Offline
Mr. Dangerous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:24 am
Posts: 45
Location: Florida
#2
Depending on your bandwidth and number of player slots you can TRY adjusting the :

set sv_maxRate

in your server.cfg file

(10000 is the defualt for ET TCE "recommends" 13000...you could try it a little higher)

_________________
Image


Last edited by Gator69 on Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 4:53 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:18 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Michigan US
Just wanted to let everyone know that we have the PB problem fixed and it is back up and running. Thank You Namco. And Gator69 I will pass this along to our server tech and see what he comes up with...Thanks...

PACE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 1:31 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:29 pm
Posts: 17
you can run maxrate at 15000 that sames to be the sweet spot. And your welcome Dark Wolf :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:23 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:03 am
Posts: 4
Hi,

I'd also like to set up a linux server (for True Combat Elite) but am clueless. Is there a server package and if so where can I download it? Or does it require the normal packages? What are the system requirements for a server?
Such are the questions I ponder.

As I'm only just starting to grasp the basics of Bash and such, a link (which I couldn't find) to a small baby steps How-To for this or other morron proof help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
hm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:35 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
theres a discussion topic about servers.
you should have posted your post in there,
so if i were you i would post the same post but this time you should post in in the server topic section. you'll get more instructive infromation about how to setup a own server ect. ect.

Xeno put this post in the server section.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:09 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
correction, this regards to server setup and not server promotion and invitations or advertisement. The server section is where clans or induviduals who own their own TCE servers can post links, IPs, server rules, features, and available maps. The 3 induvidual support sections are for everything regarding video help, sound help, installation help, server setup, game set up, configuration help and in game software and hardware caused problems (not bugs).

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:23 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:20 pm
Posts: 2531
in my opinion, this is too complicated,
its too specific,

things could be done more efficiently,
buts thats my opinion.

_________________
Image
call me Dragon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:24 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
yes we have our own opinions, if we want our opinions to be respected, we should respect other's opinions aswell.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:37 am 
Offline
Forum Master
Forum Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:48 am
Posts: 1239
I don't have Linux so I'm sort of clueless when it comes to it. :P

I tried to install it but it's very difficult.

~Silentcrisis

_________________
Image

/Dragonathon

TC:E/ET username = Silentcrisis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:04 am 
Offline
Pwnzer
Pwnzer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 4573
Location: Canada, ON
Thats why I said "Even though Bill Gates is a rich ------- who wants us to spend money on Microsoft and Windows, we still do because its what we know how to use" face it, he's the only winner around here, until i figure out how to get Linux working, but since I like playing games, I dont want to risk it.

_________________
Image
Terms of Use||TC:E + W:ET EULA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:32 am 
Offline
Marksman
Marksman

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:03 am
Posts: 4
Ok, thanks for all the input. I will try it at the server section though it might not seem the right spot.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group